We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Tummy!!!”
Review of Thai Zap

Thai Zap
Ranked #22 of 267 Restaurants in Hagerstown
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Restaurant details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Happy Tummy!!!”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I was not expected this cute little place to be as good as it was. There are many of Thai restaurants in the DMV (DC, MD and VA) area and many fall short to me.

I was in Hagerstown visiting and it was suggested we try Thai Zap. It is a small little place yet cute and cozy. The staff was very pleasant and attentive, smiles from the beginning to end.

The food was very appealing looking when it arrived and very spicy as I am used to Thai being and LOVE it to be. Everything from the coconut soup to the entre was PERFECT in every aspect.

A must if you live in the area. Take a nice ride to Hagerstown and enjoy the food and plum wine. You will not be sorry you tried Thai Zap and with the outlet mall being so close you can really make a nice day of it. Food and shopping can't beat it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DiniJ16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    23
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Sticky Rice & Mango”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We were in Hagerstown for a meeting and wanted to take our team out for dinner. I had seen their sign earlier and suggested we go to Thai Zap. Lovely decor, relaxing ambiance, charming staff and really good food! We had a wide variety. Everyone in our group raved! The sticky rice & mango was perfection. So glad we stumbled into Thai Zap! We'll definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beckiwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithsburg, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Gem in Hagerstown”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

My friends and I have eaten at Thai Zap many times and have always been pleased. We were pleased to learn they now serve wine and beer. I enjoyed a chef special shrimp dish that was wonderful. I've ordered carry out after work and that has always been great as well.
I hope we step up and support this local gem.

Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not that good”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We ordered Pad Thai noodles (#31) and Nau Ka Ta (#38) as take out. Starting with the Pad Thai noodles, they were edible, but I thought they weren't that flavorful. I have had way better. They just weren't worth the price ($12.50), size or taste. And the Nau Ka Ta; that really blew it for me. For $11.50, this was not even appetizer sized and the taste was not that great, a little foul if you ask me. Also, I was a little worried when I walked in to pick up my food and they had only 4 or 5 customers on a Saturday night. Please save your money. I was hoping to enjoy a takeout meal for 2 for a little under $25, but this was not enjoyable. You would be better off just ordering Chinese food or perhaps trying the other Thai restaurant off of Wesel BLVD (can't speak to that yet, haven't tried it).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a surprise! Best Thai in town!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Two Thai restaurants have recently opened in Hagerstown. We tried the other one several months ago and were disappointed. We entered Thai Zap not knowing what to expect, but hoping for the best. At first we were worried because the service was a little slow, but our server was very nice. We shouldn't have worried at all. When the food began to arrive, all of our fears were put to rest. The presentation was beautiful and the food tasted every bit as good as it looked. Everything we had was fresh and absolutely delicious. We enjoyed everything from the appetizer sampler platter to the sticky rice and mango. The price and value were really wonderful, too. We can't wait to go back and hope that the restaurant does well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jandj1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Zap also viewed

 

Been to Thai Zap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing