We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsatisfied customers/ dirty dishes (poisonous) infected my lip”
Review of Golden Corral

Golden Corral
Ranked #73 of 262 Restaurants in Hagerstown
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Hagerstown, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unsatisfied customers/ dirty dishes (poisonous) infected my lip”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

I ate there yesterday with my husband. The food was ok. Natalie was our waitress.she was nice and helpful. But I'm very upset, they need to dissinfect The cups. I got poison ivy On my upper lip. Will not be returning, and will see my doctor, maybe a lawyer

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cira1love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    25
    20
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Falling Waters, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not worth the price!!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We have eaten there on other occasions and have never been excited about going there, or to any other buffet for that matter. On our most recent visit, for breakfast, we agreed that it would probably be our last one. Some of the selections were empty and not replenished during the entire time we were there. Other items were not heated as we thought they should have been. Just not a enjoyable breakfast.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“All you want to eat Hot or cold homemade food.”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Typical buffet food items with a fresh grill station and Wok station. Wonderful cheese biscuits and of course their desserts are always good. Prices vary to the time of day. Senior discounts are very nice. They are located behind the mall. Staff helpful.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank pattio_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Go when they are busy”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I've eaten at this Golden Corral a few times in the past, normally when they are busy.
This time we ate there during the slow hours. Food had been sitting a while. Nobody 'manning' the grill. Desert area didn't have much on it.
When they are busy the food is fresh and the food prep people are busy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BLM59292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lunch and dinner...tasty. Breakfast....not anymore!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

First off, lunch and dinner buffets are the usual and what they always have been...crowd pleasing, full of comfort food that is always on point and always delicious. The mashed potatoes are excellent as is most other offerings.

Second...the breakfast.

Ugh.

That's all I can think any longer. This used to be one of our family's favorite places for breakfast as you're not reduced to just scrambled eggs out of a carton (they still have the omelet station and you can also do over-easy or over-medium eggs), but lately ever since the 'new' changes have been made chain-wide, it's taken a downturn.

On our last breakfast visit (which will surely be the last in a LONG time!) the new French toast wasn't cooked all the way (I like mine a tad mushy, in defense...however, I do NOT want raw egg that is still cold on a 'cooked' piece of bread), the sausage that is supposedly seasoned in store was bland, that is, if you found a piece that had been cooked all the way and not pink or red in the center. I've always been a fan of their bacon, but there is no need for bacon to be served four different ways.

All in all, the changes they've made to breakfast made it go downhill and if they'd revert back, we'd go back.

Dinner and lunch are still viable options and we have visited since for lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sanetoolong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Corral also viewed

 

Been to Golden Corral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing