We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Always the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Krumpe’s Do-Nut

Krumpe’s Do-Nut
Ranked #1 of 6 Bakeries in Hagerstown
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout
raleigh nc
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Always the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I grew up in Hagerstown and came here as a kid. Part of the fun of this place is finding it down this little alley, and stepping into someones kitchen. Everything about the experience is great, especially the donuts. :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lauren624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    9
    0
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
235 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Heaven in Hagerstown!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This donut shop is unique. They open at 7 pm and stay open until the wee hours of the morning. Their primary business is supplying donuts to other stores but they also sell direct to the public from the rear of their bakery. You access the store on an alley and there is limited parking. Folks start lining up before they open but if you wait until around 9 pm you can usually walk right up to the counter. The donuts are fresh out of the oven and very good. The prices are about half what you will pay at Dunkin Donuts or other retail stores. The Krumpe family has been in business for a long time and they know what to do to keep their customers coming back. Good donuts at a great price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank rmorin49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown
Level Contributor
105 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“BEST DONUTS EVER!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The donuts found at Krumpes are unlike any other. The warm glazed donuts are hard to beat. My kids are CRAZY about them. If you are in the Hagerstown area be sure to find this unique donut shop located in the South end of town on Donut Alley. You'll never look at a donut the same way again. They are only open evenings Sunday - Friday and are closed on Saturday evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dink1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clyde, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“the best hot donuts I've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My daughter lives in Smithsburg and we planed to visit her and she kept saying she was going to take us to get hot donuts. I love good donuts and that is something that is hard to find. We live in another State that is home to a competetors donuts, you know the ones that are crispy and creamy. My daughter did not lead us wrong. In the middle of homes down alleyways in a tiny building. It is the donuts I have been hunting for. Do yourself a favor and get there. AWESOME!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cerkals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great do-nuts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a hidden treasure. They aren't easy to find but they are worth the search. They have the best doughnuts. They don't open until late. Stop by after dinner and have a hot doughnut for dessert. Awesome treat!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krumpe’s Do-Nut also viewed

 

Been to Krumpe’s Do-Nut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing