We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Hope they never close!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Georgia Boy Cafe at Park Circle - CLOSED

The Georgia Boy Cafe at Park Circle
325 Virginia Ave, Hagerstown, MD
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, African
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hope they never close!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Awesome food, awesome service, just awesome all around. Best fried chicken I've had and the sweet potatoes are to die for!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lmiller719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Soul food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Since we could see the episode of Restaurant Impossible about the Georgia Boy Café in Hagerstown we wanted to go there to taste the food ourselves. It is so delicious, really soul food. I never in my life ate a more delicious fried chicken. We were there again and will be dine in again and again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank floridalady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food was excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Even though we live in town it had been some time since we visited Georgia boy and since we had family from the south visiting we decided to check it out. We were not disappointed and our southern family members were impressed also. Everything is made to order so it takes a little longer than normal. There are even specials that are not on the menu that he makes every night. Since all seven of us got something different it's hard to recommend one thing as it all was delicious. I highly recommend the homemade cheesecake that was about three inches thick and the hot peach cobbler with bourbon ice cream, those two combos are amazing. I don't think you'll be disappointed if you go, nice relaxed atmosphere with very friendly employees.

Helpful?
1 Thank AugustGoldilocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rovigo, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“South's soul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

I and my husband tried this restaurant for the first time two weeks ago. Inside the place looks completely renovated: the style is pretty modern whit cosy and warm details. The owner is very nice, ready to explain the dishes and their traditions. The food is great! I tried the Green fried tomatoes and the fried catfish: amazing! The tomatoes have served in a multi-floors composition with fresh mozzarella and fresh leaves basil, plus a reduction of balsamic vinegar...yummy! The catfish was a really generous portion, rich of tender meat with a crunchy crust. I founded a really beautiful place!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SaraRaimondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindon, Utah
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great find from watching Food Network”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

OK - so I watched an episode of "Restaurant Impossible" and they overhauled this restaurant called Georgia Boy Cafe. It was in Hagerstown, MD and I was planning a business trip to that area, so I put it on my calendar to check it out.

I am glad that I did. Theresa met us at the door, sat us at a table and provided outstanding service through the entire meal. We started with gator bites, fried pickles and cheesy waffle fries. Then for entres we tried the Chicken and Waffles and Pork Ribs and sampled collard greens, mac & cheese and baked beans. For dessert we tried the chocolate and peanut butter cake and the bacon brownie.

The price was great three of ate for under $100 and we had appetizers, entres and dessert.

Everything was well prepared and tasted very good. If you're within a 50 mile radius of Hagerstown, it's worth the drive in my opinion. Thanks for a great meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Georgia Boy Cafe at Park Circle also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing