We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too loud and not worth the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Eyed Susan

Black Eyed Susan
Ranked #18 of 257 Restaurants in Hagerstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: This is a new branch of the original restaurant in Williamsport, MD.
Keedysville, Maryland
Level Contributor
252 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Too loud and not worth the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I ate at Black Eyed Susan's while it was in Williamsport area, and loved it. However, the new location was larger, but the noise level in this restaurant was unbearable. We could not hear the people in the same booth as us. The prices were high, and for $100, I'd expect a lot more for my money. I will NOT return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    34
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Our first visit to restaurant's new location. We were Wowed!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our wait person perfected this visit with friends to BES. She's been with John Walla since the 1990s, was enthusiastic and personable. She had a thorough knowledge of menu and beverage offerings. The food, whole wheat pastas, salmon and others were fantastic. I usually have enough left over for a take out bag, but ate every bite. The wine list by glass isn't exhaustive; but fairly priced and our selections were fantastic!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Manmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fancy food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

I had lunch there today. The food was good. Definately chef prepared, fresh and flavorful. It was a little to dark and and the air from the door was very unenjoyable. And we were as far as you could get from it. The wait staff seamed out of step with each other and sloppy looking for the price and quality of the resturant. But I will go back to try the different dishes. When it's warmer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dunweir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

It was "okay". It's hard to find adjectives swinging beyond average. The server was friendly but slow. Medium meant more like rare with my burger which is okay because I'd rather be under than over. The value was just okay. For a burger and chips it was more expensive than another popular place less than a mile away. It's a shopping center restaurant and that's pretty much what you get. Nothing was bad but nothing stood out as exceptional.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jkleinterpfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Consistently good food; variable service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

I've eaten at BES three times now and each time the food has been delicious, beautiful, and satisfying. I'd highly recommend the gourmet grilled cheese and the coleslaw - it's the best coleslaw I've ever had; it's creamy but not heavy, the cabbage is finely shredded and crispy, and it has a refreshingly fruity sweetness to it. The Greek salad and the goat cheese fritters are also worth trying.

The food is pricey for the geographic area in which the restaurant is located but this is definitely a "pay for quality not for quantity" type of location. It's not as severe as a tapas restaurant might be but hopefully you get the idea.

I really like the atmosphere of the restaurant; the layout and the lighting provide a social yet potentially intimate setting. There is a divider separating the bar area from the dining area which is nice but doesn't do much to muffle the sound. On some evenings there is live music which is fun - especially a nice change during the holiday season when one might want a break from Jingle Bells and Deck the Halls. In the winter months the restaurant can be a little chilly so, dress warmly!

Service has been the one and only area where I could say BES has room for improvement. Maybe it's a personal preference but I appreciate a warm and friendly waiter/waitress as much as I appreciate his/her attentiveness and punctuality. BES staff do not lack in the attentiveness and punctuality area but they come off as a little cold. It'd be nice if they could try to establish some kind of relationship with their customers with whom they'll be working for the next 45 minutes to an hour. It would make for better tips, at least from me.

In the end, I'd recommend giving BES a try; the food is delicious, it's in a convenient location with ample parking plus it's right next to a library! Go have a tasty lunch and then go check out some DVDs and books and snuggle in for a cold winter's evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jzamostny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Eyed Susan also viewed

Hagerstown, MD
 

Been to Black Eyed Susan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing