We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One more Try”

The Broad Axe Tavern
Ranked #55 of 262 Restaurants in Hagerstown
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Hedgesville, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One more Try”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have to admit , I was reluctant in deciding to go back to this place, to say it went to hell in a handbasket would be an understatement. To my surprise, as we entered the Broad axe I immediately could tell this place experienced an extreme facelift.
It was Very clean , We were greeted as we entered.
The place had been remodeled and acquired a friendly staff. The menu was extensive, The micro brewed beers on tap was of a wide variety. The coffee like Stout I had was excellent although in most places you still get a full glass ?.The Jalepeno burger was very good as was the Fish and Chips my husband had.The manager said they were having entertainment later that evening, however we were leaving prior to this. We were told they have not had their Grand opening yet. Anyway, I highly reccomend trying this place , maybe just a little pricey though.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington Park, Maryland, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Neat Place to Eat”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The atmosphere here is really friendly. You feel like you have gone there for ever the very first time you walk in and - - - the food is really good. Can't beat it!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank PaddyBorrelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a great change happening”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

i can say that i have been to the broad axe more times than i can count, but this was my first visit since being bought by the new owners and being remodeled. the decor is much better and brighter. the new seating is a huge upgrade. although it isn't a very diverse menu,everything that we had was quite good. if you are looking for a place to go unwind, get a drink and enjoy a good sandwich, this just might be the right place for you.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

They did a great job on the remodel food is very good, you won't be disappointed, Broad Axe has been around a long time and the new owners have made it what it use to be.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank twhitt65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food okay”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Not a place I would go at night as a woman alone. Good convenient place for downtown lunch

Helpful?
Thank vickywv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Broad Axe Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The Broad Axe Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing