We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hotel located in Truck Stop Area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Hagerstown/Halfway Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Super 8 Hagerstown/Halfway Area
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Hagerstown
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgton, Maine
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hotel located in Truck Stop Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This may not appeal to some but Jane and I are pilot car drivers that escort oversize loads. That aside, our stay was perfect. This property is clean and neat. It includes a fridge and microwave. Even though the location is right in the middle of three truck stops, our room was quiet. The price is a good value for the area and still close to all the restaurants and services in that area. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't be turned off by the truck stops around the hotel. It is clean and neat - good value for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianKelly_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    130
    48
    10
    7
See reviews for
109
87
50
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Trenton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel was very nice. The hotel staff was friendly and courteous. The rooms are roomy, large tv, microwave, small fridg, coffee maker. I couldn't get the clock on the clock radio to work, but maybe it was user error.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freedom, Indiana
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

If you travel with a pet on a regular basis you know that oft times the rooms you are given are, shall we say, not the cream of the crop. This hotel makes sure the pet rooms are clean and I promise you, they are nice. New flat screens and top notch mattresses make kicking back with Fido a win. While I was checking in a regular requested a specific room saying "it was the best mattress he ever slept on" and truckers know the best spots for sleeping and eating. Staff was very nice, def a place I will book again should work or play take me that way.

Room Tip: I think any room here would be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie-Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I often travel with my two Scottish Terriers and have stopped several times at the Super 8 in Hagerstown, Maryland. For an overnight with my pets, I find that Super 8's are the best value. They don't gouge you with fees that, if spread over a week's or longer stay, might be okay, but for an overnight, these nonrefundable fees, often $100 or more, aren't where I chose to spend my money. Super 8's are franchised, so pet policies pertaining to fees can vary from one location to another, and among the several locations where I have stayed, I have either not paid fee, paid a minimal fee or had a deposit held against damages and refunded when I checked out. I think this hotel was one where a deposit was refunded as I left, but whatever the policy may be, it's reasonable. For different locations, I have been able to find out what fees I can expect by calling the Super 8 reservation number and that information is generally accurate.

I have never had an issue at any of the Super 8s I've stayed in that would lead me to not return, but the Hagerstown/Halfway Area location is one of the best. It's clean, well maintained, and the staff has been warm and gracious. The truck stop in front of the hotel has been cited as a negative by some reviewers, but for me, a woman traveling alone with her dogs, I like it. The truck stop is down a deep incline from the hotel, so the noise and lights are not bothersome from the rooms. When walking my dogs late at night, I find the lights and activity comforting and much better than being alone in a dark and empty parking lot. I've never had an issue with pet odors, fleas or pet hair during any of the (at least) five times I've stayed here. If you have a dog, you know that they sniff these odors out, and this has not happened in this hotel. The Hagerstown/Halfway Area Super 8 has become my regular stop on my way to visit my daughter in NYC and I'll be staying there again.

Room Tip: If you think you might have an issue with the activity at the truck stop, ask for a room at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank troggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hagerstown hotels
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#10 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Hagerstown
Ramada Plaza Hagerstown
#4 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.0 of 5 stars 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
#1 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 stars 586 reviews
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
#2 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 stars 582 reviews
5.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hagerstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Hagerstown/Halfway Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Hagerstown/Halfway Area

Property: Super 8 Hagerstown/Halfway Area
Address: 16805 Blake Road, Hagerstown, MD 21740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hagerstown
#4 Business Hotel in Hagerstown
#7 Family Hotel in Hagerstown
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hagerstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Hagerstown/Halfway Area 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Super 8 Hagerstown/Halfway Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Hagerstown/Halfway Area Hotel Hagerstown
Super Eight Hagerstown
Hagerstown Super Eight
Hagerstown Super 8
Super8 Halfway Hagerstown Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing