We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Worth every dime!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sitar of India

Sitar of India
110 Railway Ln, Hagerstown, MD 21740-6912
301-733-8223
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 239 Restaurants in Hagerstown
Cuisines: Indian, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Excellent little family restaruant with great food
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth every dime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stopped in for a quick bite and they were offering a lunch buffet. I am still new to Indian cuisine so I was skeptical of how the food would taste. I was pleasantly surprised at how delicious everything was.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank caseegers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    16
    9
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Fabulous little Indian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I'm usually not a big fan of Indian cuisine, but this was one of the best meals I have had out in a very long time. They let you choose how spicy you want your food. I can't take much heat and their preparation was perfect. Everything we ordered was delicious. Highly recommend trying this restaurant if you are in the Hagerstown, MD area. We will return!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ahighlanderib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windber, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Omg! Incredible! 3 of us shared the Vegetarian appetizer plate, samosas, naan bread basket, Shahi paneer korma, and chicken tikka masala. All were so fresh and perfectly seasoned. We will definitely come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Washington, DC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authetic Indian cuisine freshly prepared.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Having lived In the Indian sub-continent for five years, I feel well qualified to judge the cuisine of that part of the world. Sitar never disappoints -- the food is always freshly prepared and expertly served. The naan and other bread is among the best I have had outside of India. The staff will accommodate your taste for the degree of spiciness and meet special dietary needs when possible. The portions are generous and prices reasonable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seasonedtraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
218 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“average food, poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We are avid foodies, especially Indian food. This restaurant is located in a busy strip mall area. The menu had a modest number of choices no clear regional specialties. It seemed as though the owner was 'dumbing down' Indian food to appeal to the masses. The papadums were burnt. I had lamb biryani, and my wife had a chicken dish. The food was o.k. (reasonably seasoned) and the portion sizes were reasonable for the price. The service was nearly nonexistent except for incessant refilling of our water glasses. We had to stand up and find a service person to request our check and then again to pay our bill. It was busy - but not with people of Indian heritage...As this is the only Indian restaurant in this area we will likely be back - but not often.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DVE11044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sitar of India also viewed

 
Hagerstown, MD
 

Been to Sitar of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing