We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sitar of India

Sitar of India
Ranked #32 of 251 Restaurants in Hagerstown
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Excellent little family restaruant with great food
Windber, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Omg! Incredible! 3 of us shared the Vegetarian appetizer plate, samosas, naan bread basket, Shahi paneer korma, and chicken tikka masala. All were so fresh and perfectly seasoned. We will definitely come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    17
    10
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Near Washington, DC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authetic Indian cuisine freshly prepared.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Having lived In the Indian sub-continent for five years, I feel well qualified to judge the cuisine of that part of the world. Sitar never disappoints -- the food is always freshly prepared and expertly served. The naan and other bread is among the best I have had outside of India. The staff will accommodate your taste for the degree of spiciness and meet special dietary needs when possible. The portions are generous and prices reasonable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seasonedtraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
256 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“average food, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We are avid foodies, especially Indian food. This restaurant is located in a busy strip mall area. The menu had a modest number of choices no clear regional specialties. It seemed as though the owner was 'dumbing down' Indian food to appeal to the masses. The papadums were burnt. I had lamb biryani, and my wife had a chicken dish. The food was o.k. (reasonably seasoned) and the portion sizes were reasonable for the price. The service was nearly nonexistent except for incessant refilling of our water glasses. We had to stand up and find a service person to request our check and then again to pay our bill. It was busy - but not with people of Indian heritage...As this is the only Indian restaurant in this area we will likely be back - but not often.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DVE11044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The cute server”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Ive been their serval times for the linch buffet and the ocassional dinner service is always so good but there is always this very plesant young man about early 20s he is always so curtious and will take his time just to talk to you he has a short beard and just so cute if you ever get the chance to eat there eat the buffet and met him he will put a smile on your face and give you a really good experience

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gonjabus420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falling Waters, West Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nonexistent service, so-so food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We went to the Sunday brunch and were looking forward to it since we had been there about a year ago. I was quite disappointed this time. After being seated, we did not see a waiter again except to clear dishes and refill the water. We were never offered any beverage other than water. The food was OK, but rather dull. The gulab jamun were tasteless, except for being just sweet. No cardamom or other flavoring at all. The selection of food was quite limited for a buffet. I doubt that we will go back to this restaurant again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RWCJHP25419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sitar of India also viewed

 

Been to Sitar of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing