We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With a little more effort, could be a nicer place.”
Review of Sitar of India

Sitar of India
Ranked #61 of 267 Restaurants in Hagerstown
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Excellent little family restaruant with great food
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“With a little more effort, could be a nicer place.”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Several weeks ago I visited Sitar of India. Over the years, I have visited numerous restaurants serving Indian food. At every Indian restaurant that I have every visited in my area, complimentary foods are placed on the table before ones dinner arrives. Not at Sitar. If you want something, you must pay for it. Not even a scrap of bread, crackers with interesting authentic relishes was placed on the table. I ordered a glass of wine and took a sip. As I looked at the glass, I realized that it had remnants of some previous drinkers lipstick on the rim. Not very appetizing. I suggest that you always check your glasses before serving a drink to your valued customers. I will say that the owner gladly gave me a new glass of wine which I much appreciated. For my main dinner, I ordered the Seafood Masala. I must say that it was a bit bland for my taste. I was surprized that in the entire dish there were only 3 shrimp, 1 scallop, and a small piece of fish. I think that the amount of seafood in the dish was quite ridiculous. I will say that my waitress was pleasant as was the owner but I feel work needs to be done to make this more of a desired restaurant for the weary traveler.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maloney1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    17
    10
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I wasn't impressed”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I love Indian food. Theirs was subpar. There was a lack of vegetables and the meat was overcooked. One member of my party needed bland non-spicy food and they were not able to accommodate. Plus,they only had spiced iced tea to drink.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Wonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch buffet!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Fine food, excellent service and great atmosphere. I wasn't sure what to expect from an Indian restaurant in a strip mall. Very good!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beanabyss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Leonard, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well prepared Indian food”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have visited this restaurant at least six times and am impressed by the consistent quality and dedicated service. The menu offers an impressive selection.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve1850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Indian Food”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Travelled well over and hour to this restaurant and it was beyond worth it (from the Gettysburg, PA area; usually I frequent an Indian restaurant north of town). Service was a little slow at first to order, but it was understandable since there were a few tables being served right after we were seated. There were two of us and we split the Cheese Pakoras (cheese fried in spicy chickpea batter), which came with mango chutney, mint chutney and something pickled. Delicious. Absolutely delicious. For our main course we were going to order the Saag Paneer (mild spice) and Aloo Palak, but our waiter recommended the Shahi Pancer Korma (medium spice) in place of the latter, to have a different taste. His recommendation was spot on and both dishes were amazing. Our waters were refilled whenever they looked low, and the servers were pleasant and helpful.

Price was o.k., but the quality of the food more than made up for it. The best Indian restaurant I've ever been to. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingGnome87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sitar of India also viewed

 

Been to Sitar of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing