We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food, Service not so good”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sitar of India

Sitar of India
Ranked #54 of 257 Restaurants in Hagerstown
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Excellent little family restaruant with great food
Hagerstown,MD
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Service not so good”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Excellent food - I like to order off the menu though which the waiter did not seem to appreciate since they had a buffet available. Even though I spent probably twice as much by ordering individual meals and appetizers, the waiter/owner was not very friendly about it. This has happened to me twice already. I will probably go back again because the food is delicious but I am hoping the level of service gets better at some point.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RJStoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    17
    10
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsport, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is THE PLACE for Indian in Western Maryland”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Been going to Sitar of India since it opened and have been there at least 40 times in the last 2 years. Service is always top notch. They will make special requests (tip - if you like it spicy, ask for jalepenp peper nan - not on the menu but they will make it to order) If you have never had Indian, I recomend first trying the lunch bufet -good for trying out the different dishes. Then come back for dinner and order off the menu - even better! One last suggestion, try the bhrindi marsala, one of the chef's specials. It is EXCELENT!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Indian food”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I travel to the area several times a year for work and I eat here every time I'm in town. I usually get take out because I am dirty and tired by the time I get here. They always pack the food well. nd offer everything I
Need to enjoy my meal at my hotel. The food is delicious and the portions generous.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank auctionman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharpsburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very tasty!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I recently had dinner at this restaurant for the second time. There were 4 of us and we each got something different and then sampled each other's dishes. Each dish was prepared with a different level of heat and everyone was happy with the results. The mild dish person wasn't burned out and the hot dish person was appropriately spiced. Even though we had a coupon, the bill wouldn't have been horrible without it. The service was attentive and not overbearing. I would recommend this restaurant for good Indian food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tasty Surprise!”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by our car rental folks, conveniently located in the same strip plaza. The location is innocuous, but the food was DELICIOUS, not overly spicy and very reasonably priced. We arrived just before lunch opening, but they invited us in anyway. Another couple entered at the same time, locals who eat there every week. The array of flavors on the lunch buffet was unrivaled. There were plenty of options of vegetarian or meat dishes.

The place soon filled up with other diners who are obviously regulars as they greeted the owners by name.

Now I'm hungry for Indian food again....

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DarbyDoolittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sitar of India also viewed

 

Been to Sitar of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing