We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UMMMM!!! GOOD!!!”
Review of EL RANCHERO

EL RANCHERO
Ranked #27 of 267 Restaurants in Hagerstown
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
Good for: Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“UMMMM!!! GOOD!!!”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Great Mexican lunch. Only complaint was the salsa was just so-so. Service was wonderful and lunch specials were excellent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Woodsylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    34
    15
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A must visit if you like Mexican food”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We have been wanting to try here ever since it opened and boy were we not disappointed. Pretty extensive menu with lots of options. Really appreciate that the prices are very reasonable as well.
If you like seafood that highly recommend the shrimp and crabmeat chimichanga, just fantastic! Of course gotta love the endless chips and salsa that is on the table.
Service was very good; friendly and always made sure our drinks were never left empty for long. Also restaurant is spacious, bright and has a family friendly atmosphere.
Jus wish we were so full from dinner that we could have tried dessert but great excuse to make a return visit...which will be in the very near future.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mdtinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Suprisingly good”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Moving to a new town, finding a decent Mexican spot was a must. After finding El Ranchero, I was not disappointed. The service was quick and polite and the food was better than expected. For the price, I could not ask for much more.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sglackin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Consistent Excellence”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We've been coming to this restaurant for years and have never had a bad experience. The food is always good, fresh and served hot. The prices are very reasonable. If you like mexican food, you really cannot go wrong here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trav115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
433 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Another Mexican gem”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This restaurant is located near the big mall in Hagerstown. It is worth the drive vs. eating at the chain places in the mall. Service was very prompt and accurate. the Monday special lime margarita was a great deal @ $1.99. The Dos Equis on tap was also great in the 32oz size (no need dfor refills!). My wife enjoyed seafood enchiladas and I liked the shrimp chipotle. The sauce was not as smokey as that at Tlaquepaque (in Mt. Airy, NC), but still good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EL RANCHERO also viewed

 

Been to EL RANCHERO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing