We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the Rough” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolce

Dolce
Ranked #10 of 247 Restaurants in Hagerstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
587 reviews
315 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Diamond in the Rough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

From the outside one would think that this was a dive that was serving sub par food. However, when you walk in you are greeted by the owner and the owners family. The menu is diverse but that doesn't stop the food from being excellent. Pizza....spectacular (my husband RAVES over the Franco Pizza). Dinners......superb! Salads.....scrumptious! It's all fabulous! And definitely save a bit of room from the 'donuts' that they bring to your table at the end.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mfclingan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    37
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Friendliest owner ever, awsome food!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Ive grown up around small restaurant s and pizza shops all my life, friends and family owning their own and julia is the nicest owner/cook you can find, and her food is astounding!

Helpful?
Thank Alex g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Simple, friendly place with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Looked at Trip Advisor for ideas on restaurants in Hagarstown as we recently spent the afternoon there. We were not disappointed with Dolce. The food really is like homemade and reasonably priced. The menu runs mainly to Italian dishes, but the owners are from Moldavia and there are some dishes from their culture - hence the full name of the restaurant: Dolce Pizza Gourmet and Eastern European Restaurant. We would make the one hour drive just to eat there, but definitely would go back if we are in the area again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanport, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great little find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

While staying in Hagerstown for the night, we needed a place for dinner. We checked TripAdvisor and decided on Dolce. We were very happy. This would be our little go to place if we lived here. I had the lasagna and my husband had the chicken marsala. Salads came with our meals along with rolls and garlic bread. At the end of the meal we were presented with "donuts." To me they were Italian zeppoles--they were outrageous. Our server was very pleasant and we met the owner. She was very pleasant and accommodating. Don't miss Dolce!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BoyntonNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Little hole in the wall, but great!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This place don't look like much from the outside, but I gave it a chance. Great food, excellent service, and made to feel welcome and at home. I will def come back again. The only downfall is it is cash only, which I find a bit odd. A restaurant that does not take cards? I hope they will change that soon. No alcohol, but you can bring your own wine,etc with no opening fee.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank doglover1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolce also viewed

 
Hagerstown, MD
 

Been to Dolce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing