We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thought i would give it another try” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shoney's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shoney's
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
184 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Thought i would give it another try”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stopped @ 1:45 pm on Saurday, March 30th for lunch and breakfast is still being served. No big deal we had a plate of breakfast items and they were ok.

We were told that the lunch items will be placed out @ 2pm but the only items that were put out were 2 soups and the rest was salad items.

we left around 2:20pm
The facility seemed clean and our waitress was very polite.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ricflairnwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    5
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, NJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Shoney's AHagerstown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stopped in for dinner our first night in town. Had the buffet which had good variety and was tasty. Great price too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
154 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Bargain buffet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

The all-you-can-eat weekend steak and seafood buffet is good bargain. There is a wide selection of things to eat. The food was perfectly cooked on my several visits, and the service was OK. You can order items on the menu, but the best deal is the buffet. Unless you pay a whole lot more, this is about as good as it gets.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeInUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I went there for breakfast. The buffet the selection is outstanding and all the food was good and they keep everything filled. I never went for a helping to find an empty container. The cost was high around $7-8 per person, but if you are hungry its worth it

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TJMacoPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellsboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Was not worth it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

First time being to a Shoneys, my boyfriend told me they were good last time he went to one. Not so much this time. The food was bad. It was tasteless, stale, and just plain bad. The worst part was we got there when the lunch buffet was going to be put out in like 10 minutes. So we waited, that was stupid. They brought the fish and steak out. The fish was tasteless. They had frog legs on the buffet to with no name around it we had to figure out what it was. The steak was so tough and flavorless. I don't plan on EVER visiting here again!!!! Plus side, the waitress was good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MsueW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing