We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay here again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Kent Island
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grasonville
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay here again!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a Great location near restaurants, bars, and a perfect walking trail. It has a Beautiful waterfront view. Rooms were Very clean. Friendly staff. And you can't beat the breakfast at Holiday Inn Express! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celinamarie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    63
    25
    10
    8
See reviews for
55
80
17
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had reservations to this hotel, even read the reviews before booking. However, we wish we would have made another choice. We arrived early enough to stay somewhere else, but the hotels cancellation policy is 4pm the day before arrival, so once you are there you are locked in to pay them.

The lobby area and the staff were ok. We were told coffee was available 24/7, went to fill my cup, no coffee. Went back down in an hour, no coffee. The entire second floor hallway had a terrible odor, horrible stains on carpet, and caused a gag reflex when we stepped off the elevator. The rooms were dated and worn, looks like they specialize in construction workers on extended stays. The beds were SOFT with no support.

Hard to believe they still have the Holiday Inn brand.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dcsteve56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kent Island, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear dcsteve56,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and we regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenolden, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just an over night stop on a trip, and this hotel was a pleasant surprize. A bit dated, but they more than make up for it with decent rooms, a great location, and super friendly staff. The location is right off the highway, and there are at least 6 great bars/restaurants right on the water. Definitely worth another trip for a few days. There is a small pool and grassy area, and a nice little dock that juts into the lagoon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a water view in the back. It over looks a real nice little harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justaguy061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Springs, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Celebrated my 8th wedding anniversary at the Kent Island Holiday Inn Express. Very, Very, surprised by the size of the King Room. Stayed in an Express over 15 years ago in Dallas and it was nothing like this. Hotel was clean, room was clean, the free popcorn was a plus :-) This will become our little get-a-way only 45 min. from home but far enough to relax. The bay view is a must! Friendly Staff and did I say clean.

Room Tip: Get the bay view, cost a little more but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljbfaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I was driving home from Berlin, MD with an appointment in Annapolis the following day, so I decided to spend last night at the HIX on Kent Island. I had driven by this property COUNTLESS times on the way back from the beach. I almost always stop at Harris Crab House, one of the best of several seafood restaurants nearby.

I was suprised to find a lovely outdoor area with a terrific bay view and perfect breezes. The hotel has a small pool. I'm a rehab nurse and I was in accessiblity heaven when I saw that the pool was eqipped with a lift chair so that those with limited mobility can use the pool!

There is some quirkiness: the hotel computer ( business center) is just sitting in a hallway outside of a guestroom; when you exit the first floor side door, ther is no card reader to get back in. Other than that, standard HIX fare for breakfast, awesome bed (better than mine at home), easy off the highway ( if you're going west. I agree that the room looked water damaged and hastily repaired, but hey - the property is sitting out there pretty unprotected from storms - remember Sandy?
I had a handicapped accessible room. I posted a picture of the BR. Roll in shower, very roomy.

Room Tip: First floor rooms facing the highway were suprisingly quiet!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachGal48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a great location with several excellent seafood restaurants nearby. However, it is pricey for the quality of the rooms. There are water stains on the ceiling, carpets are well worn, and the bedding is not updated. Will not stay here again unless the hotel has been redecorated!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8Trixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kent Island, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear 8Trixie,

Thank you for your review and enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comment, we truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. Please accept my apology for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay. We are continually reviewing the products and service we provide, therefore guest feedback is very important to us.

Again, we wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Creek, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hotel and rooms clean. Breakfast very good. Staff very friendly and helpful. had no problem hooking up to their wi- fi. Good location for restaurants as well as a starting point for local trips to additional islands and coves around the Chesapeake area.
Have a nice seating area outside with a nice view of a portion of the bay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuckwagon8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasonville
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kent Island
0.2 mi away
Best Western Kent Narrows Inn
1.9 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 4 in Grasonville
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Inn at Chesapeake Bay Beach Club
4.1 mi away
Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn
15.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Easton Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Kent Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Kent Island

Property: Holiday Inn Express Kent Island
Address: 1020 Kent Narrows Rd, Grasonville, MD 21638-1058
Location: United States > Maryland > Grasonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grasonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Kent Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Direct waterfront hotel on the Chesapeake Bay. Hot breakfast included with your stay, everyday. Observation Deck and Pier to get close to the Bay. Walking distance to all the restaurants and nightlife The Narrows offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Kent Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kent Island Hotel Grasonville
Holiday Inn Grasonville
Holiday Inn Express Grasonville
Grasonville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing