We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passed by many times and finally stopped”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Kent Island
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grasonville
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Passed by many times and finally stopped”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I was driving home from Berlin, MD with an appointment in Annapolis the following day, so I decided to spend last night at the HIX on Kent Island. I had driven by this property COUNTLESS times on the way back from the beach. I almost always stop at Harris Crab House, one of the best of several seafood restaurants nearby.

I was suprised to find a lovely outdoor area with a terrific bay view and perfect breezes. The hotel has a small pool. I'm a rehab nurse and I was in accessiblity heaven when I saw that the pool was eqipped with a lift chair so that those with limited mobility can use the pool!

There is some quirkiness: the hotel computer ( business center) is just sitting in a hallway outside of a guestroom; when you exit the first floor side door, ther is no card reader to get back in. Other than that, standard HIX fare for breakfast, awesome bed (better than mine at home), easy off the highway ( if you're going west. I agree that the room looked water damaged and hastily repaired, but hey - the property is sitting out there pretty unprotected from storms - remember Sandy?
I had a handicapped accessible room. I posted a picture of the BR. Roll in shower, very roomy.

Room Tip: First floor rooms facing the highway were suprisingly quiet!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachGal48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    63
    24
    10
    8
See reviews for
53
78
17
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hampstead, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a great location with several excellent seafood restaurants nearby. However, it is pricey for the quality of the rooms. There are water stains on the ceiling, carpets are well worn, and the bedding is not updated. Will not stay here again unless the hotel has been redecorated!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8Trixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kent Island, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear 8Trixie,

Thank you for your review and enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comment, we truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. Please accept my apology for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay. We are continually reviewing the products and service we provide, therefore guest feedback is very important to us.

Again, we wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Creek, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hotel and rooms clean. Breakfast very good. Staff very friendly and helpful. had no problem hooking up to their wi- fi. Good location for restaurants as well as a starting point for local trips to additional islands and coves around the Chesapeake area.
Have a nice seating area outside with a nice view of a portion of the bay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuckwagon8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granby, Connecticut
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Very much in the style of all Expresses. Very nice location weather permitting. Close to seafood restaurants. Nothing special. Staff is fine. Breakfast is OK, attentive breakfast person, but choices are limited. Room looks and feels like every HIE. Pricey for off season, probably whopping in season.

Room Tip: If you enjoy a view, ask for a room on the water side. You may have to pay extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnoyingLittleMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kent Island, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear AnnoyingLittleMan,

Thank you for your recent comments about our Hotel. I am happy to know you found our location convenient. Please accept our apologies for falling short of your expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations as well as competitive rates to the area. Your comments will be passed to the appropriate department. We always welcome opportunity to improve. Hope to see you again soon.


Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

First off, great location. Next horrible hotel. Very expensive, we got a smoking room (didn't even know these still exhisted) , stink doesn't sum it up. The hallway smelled like some masking chemical/cleaner and the room like an ashtray. The beds weren't bad but overall the room felt dirty, we found what appeared to be a rather large "spitball" dried on the wall. The shower had zero pressure and the towels were like sandpaper. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laird01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kent Island, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Laird01,

Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased to know you like our location. However, I am very sorry about the experience you had in your room and the unusual smell you encountered. We would like to assure you that this is not normal and has been addressed with our housekeeping department. Kindly be assured that all your comments will be looked into and actions will be taken accordingly. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope that you will afford us another opportunity to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Maryland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The grounds are just lovely right on the water, can walk across to restaurants on the Narrows. Clean, comfortable rooms, free wifi, free popcorn a nice touch. Breakfast was good, my son loved the pancake machine. Staff courteous and professional. We live in the area and would recommend this hotel for our family and friends coming to visit.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelcarib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We enjoyed a delightful time on our "mini- vacation". Excellent staff to handle our needs, clean room and well managed common areas, plus a well rounded breakfast . We will plan another get away trip. Overall the hotel was a positive experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marym897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasonville
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kent Island
0.2 mi away
Best Western Kent Narrows Inn
1.9 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 4 in Grasonville
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Inn at Chesapeake Bay Beach Club
4.1 mi away
Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn
15.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Easton Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Kent Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Kent Island

Property: Holiday Inn Express Kent Island
Address: 1020 Kent Narrows Rd, Grasonville, MD 21638-1058
Location: United States > Maryland > Grasonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grasonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Kent Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Direct waterfront hotel on the Chesapeake Bay. Hot breakfast included with your stay, everyday. Observation Deck and Pier to get close to the Bay. Walking distance to all the restaurants and nightlife The Narrows offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Kent Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kent Island Hotel Grasonville
Holiday Inn Grasonville
Holiday Inn Express Grasonville
Grasonville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing