We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stopover” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Kent Island

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Express Kent Island
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Grasonville
Certificate of Excellence
Falls Creek, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stopover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hotel and rooms clean. Breakfast very good. Staff very friendly and helpful. had no problem hooking up to their wi- fi. Good location for restaurants as well as a starting point for local trips to additional islands and coves around the Chesapeake area.
Have a nice seating area outside with a nice view of a portion of the bay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chuckwagon8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    60
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
50
76
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Granby, Connecticut
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Very much in the style of all Expresses. Very nice location weather permitting. Close to seafood restaurants. Nothing special. Staff is fine. Breakfast is OK, attentive breakfast person, but choices are limited. Room looks and feels like every HIE. Pricey for off season, probably whopping in season.

Room Tip: If you enjoy a view, ask for a room on the water side. You may have to pay extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnoyingLittleMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kent Island, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear AnnoyingLittleMan,

Thank you for your recent comments about our Hotel. I am happy to know you found our location convenient. Please accept our apologies for falling short of your expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations as well as competitive rates to the area. Your comments will be passed to the appropriate department. We always welcome opportunity to improve. Hope to see you again soon.


Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

First off, great location. Next horrible hotel. Very expensive, we got a smoking room (didn't even know these still exhisted) , stink doesn't sum it up. The hallway smelled like some masking chemical/cleaner and the room like an ashtray. The beds weren't bad but overall the room felt dirty, we found what appeared to be a rather large "spitball" dried on the wall. The shower had zero pressure and the towels were like sandpaper. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laird01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kent Island, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Laird01,

Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased to know you like our location. However, I am very sorry about the experience you had in your room and the unusual smell you encountered. We would like to assure you that this is not normal and has been addressed with our housekeeping department. Kindly be assured that all your comments will be looked into and actions will be taken accordingly. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope that you will afford us another opportunity to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Maryland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

The grounds are just lovely right on the water, can walk across to restaurants on the Narrows. Clean, comfortable rooms, free wifi, free popcorn a nice touch. Breakfast was good, my son loved the pancake machine. Staff courteous and professional. We live in the area and would recommend this hotel for our family and friends coming to visit.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelcarib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We enjoyed a delightful time on our "mini- vacation". Excellent staff to handle our needs, clean room and well managed common areas, plus a well rounded breakfast . We will plan another get away trip. Overall the hotel was a positive experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marym897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavilion, New York, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

This place looks very decent on the outside but definitely is a let down in the guest rooms. They put in a nice new lobby, new carpets throughout and other nice asthetics in the common areas. In the rooms though, it was like a trip to the early 90's. Most of the Holiday Inn chains have a very modern feel but this still had the old light oak furniture and just lacked the upscale feel I have knon from this brand. The shower was very far from clean but other than that my stay was okay. I know I sound kind of not picky but it just want a welcoming room to spend the night.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caleb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kent Island, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Caleb P,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the room. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

This was my first visit to this Holiday Inn and when I pulled into to parking lot the outside looks relatively new. The person at the front desk was fine, not overly friendly but nice. The room was generally clean but yo be honest they could take a little more time in the bathroom. Furnishing in the room are lower end but OK. Walls are thin. As I sit typing this review I hear coughing then snoring, then coughing and snoring again in the room next to me. No terrible but more noticeable than any hotel I've stayed at recently. For one night it's fine but when I'm in the area next time ill try something else.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kent Island, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Tom G,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, We truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. We will address these points and we hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

I look forward to having the opportunity to host you in the near future to allow you to experience our commitment to quality and service.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasonville
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kent Island
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kent Narrows Inn
4.6 mi away
The Inn at Chesapeake Bay Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 5 in Grasonville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
4.1 mi away
Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn
15.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Easton Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Kent Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Kent Island

Property: Holiday Inn Express Kent Island
Address: 1020 Kent Narrows Rd., Grasonville, MD 21638
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Grasonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Grasonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Kent Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Direct waterfront hotel on the Chesapeake Bay. Hot breakfast included with your stay, everyday. Observation Deck and Pier to get close to the Bay. Walking distance to all the restaurants and nightlife The Narrows offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Kent Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kent Island Hotel Grasonville
Holiday Inn Grasonville
Holiday Inn Express Grasonville
Grasonville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing