We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Known Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Kent Island
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grasonville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2011

My wife and I travelled from New Jersey to enjoy Blue Claws in the Chesapeake. We had been to Kent Narrows several years prior. At that time, there was only one major hotel in the area. Now there are three (Best Western, Hilton Garden, & the Holiday Inn Express). We chose this hotel because it was the only one with an outdoor pool and we planned to stay two nights. It appeared somewhat expensive ($209/nt) but we chose to check it out anyway. This was money well spent. We enjoyed a sun filled wekend laying by the pool during the early afternoons and frequenting the several dock bars and crab houses (all within walking distance of the hotel) in the late afternoon and evening. The hotel room was clean and the breakfast was well done. My only suggestion to both the Holiday Inn and the state of Maryland is to follow the others and discontinue allowing smoking in the hotel rooms. Besides that, we enjoyed having our breakfast out by the pool, enjoying the breathtaking views of the Charles River. Another small complaint was that the hotel appeared to be hosting a large family reunion that weekend and as the day went on, the pool seemed to be taken over by the group (many of whom did not appear to be staying at the hotel.) Nonetheless, the group was not disrespectful or ignorant. The front desk clerk and manager were helpful and even found us a non-smoking room when we weren't sure there would be one available. What a great destination for an weekend drive. We'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H2ORat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 224 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2011

Just returned from a Monday-Thursday trip with our infant. Very nice stay in a very peaceful location. Not necessarily a five star room, but the room was very nice, clean and comfy with a 32 inch flat panel HDTV. We stayed in the jacuzzi suite which was a larger room with the jacuzzi in the room. The room looks exactly like the pictures.
Overall, we would give it a five star because of the room, location and pleasantness of the staff.
The staff went out of the way to help me find activities for us that could include an infant. Everyone I dealt with was very pleasant and nice.
The hotel sits on the bay with very nice views. Nice little patios and dock in the back with tables and chairs. There is also a nice outdoor pool in the back with pretty nice views of the bay.
The hotel is right off the main highway over there and a beautiful 15 minute drive over a beautiful bridge int annapolis.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi suite was very nice and did not seem to be too much more then the regular room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tzandbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Went for a wed-sat getaway trip. The room was very nice-good size,very clean. Bed was soft, water in shower stayed hot, good pressure. Room had larger size hotel refrigerator and microwave(king-size bed room). Waterfront view was very picturesque.
Front staff was wonderfully helpful, gave great restaurant tips, excellent driving directions(including alternate routes and time suggestions to avoid traffic congestion). They were very friendly with no "attitude". The cleaning staff was very friendly, attentive and thorough. Pool in the back was well maintained and located next to a board patio with umbrella table, within site of the bay. Lovely place for sunrise coffee or relaxing with wine in the evening>
HIE is located right off of rt 50,(the hotel is surprisingly quiet with all the overhead traffic)very easy to find and central to many points of interest, including Annapolis and St. Michaels. Within minutes of the hotel is Harris Crabhouse which is a must-go-to restaurant. CarminesNY Pizza is a short drive(10 min?) and had great salads and NY pizza for non seafood nights. Both were very good and reasonably priced.
We've done a lot of traveling and stayed at various chains and HIE is rapidly becoming one of our favorites. There is a B***W****** across the road,that though less expensive, looked much more run down, crowded and not nearly as well maintained.Glad we chose to stay here and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: very pleased we chose the waterfront view, and got the best deal w AAA
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMDuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I went to Kent Narrows for a chartered fishing trip. Since I had to get up very early I decided to spend the night in a hotel. Even though my wife wasn't going on the fishing trip, she decide to accompany me as a sort of a getaway. After reading the Trip Advisor reviews of hotels in the area and checking the prices, we decided on the Holiday Inn Express. It was a good choice. Although, not overly large, the rooms were clean and well equipped with a fridge and a microwave. We paid a little extra and got a water view room overlooking a beautiful marsh. In fact, there is a little gazebo overlooking the marsh where guests can relax with a drink. However, there is no bar in the hotel. The hotel serves a basic self-serve free breakfast in the morning. What I liked best about the hotel was the friendly service. There was a problem with my reservation. Even though my confirmation e-mail was correct, the hotel somehow thought I was arriving two days earlier. When I got to the hotel, it was corrected quickly without any problems. Since I was taking the car to the fishing charter, my wife asked for a late checkout so she had a place to stay until I returned. She immediately received a three-hour late checkout which gave me adequate time to return before we had to leave. This is not a resort hotel where you would want to stay for an extended period of time, but for a short stay the place was great.

Kent Narrows is basically a boating area. It has many restaurants only a few minutes from the hotel. Based on a tip from a friend, we had dinner at the Narrows Restaurant. It is only a two minute drive from the hotel. It was one of the best restaurant meals I have had in a long time.

Room Tip: A waterfront room is only $10 more a night and gives a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank champ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

There are only several hotels in this area to choose from so we were stuck staying here. One of the others was booked and the other got really bad reviews. The almost $300 price tag for the room was ridiculously high and unfounded considering the condition of the room though I understand we were paying for the location. The curtains were ripped and there were spider webs inside the window frame. The bathroom was also not in the cleanest shape. In the middle of the night, the air conditioning went out and woke us up. (Because we were only staying overnight, we did not address any of the issues with management and probably should've asked for a different room). On the bright side, the staff was very nice and the continental breakfast was good with a great selection of food and drinks. We did not use the pool but it looked very nice as did the outdoor patio area. The best part of this hotel is the "backyard" which faces the bay and has gorgeous views. There is even a dock you can walk out on. We also were pleasantly surprised to see an otter and a small fox making his home in the nearby grassy area. Overall the hotel was OK but for me to stay there again, they need to improve their housekeeping.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing out the rear of the hotel as that is the view onto the bay. The front facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huthmacb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Great motel, beautiful views out the windows if you are on the north side of the motel. Not so good if you are on the south side of the motel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nebzil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed for 1 night at this hotel on our way to ocean city. We stopped here so we could eat at Harris' Crab House (a favorite of ours for years) and just relax for the evening before continuing on to OC.

This hotel had an incredible view of the water, was very well maintained, nice outdoor pool, great and free continental breakfast and beds were quite comfortable.

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkapla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasonville
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kent Island
0.2 mi away
Best Western Kent Narrows Inn
1.9 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 4 in Grasonville
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn
4.7 mi away
The Inn at Chesapeake Bay Beach Club
25.0 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Chesapeake Beach
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Kent Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Kent Island

Address: 1020 Kent Narrows Rd, Grasonville, MD 21638-1058
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Grasonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grasonville
Price Range: $119 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Kent Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IHG Award Winning Direct waterfront hotel on the Chesapeake Bay. Hot breakfast included with your stay, everyday. Observation Deck and Pier to get close to the Bay. Walking distance to all the restaurants and nightlife The Narrows offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Kent Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kent Island Hotel Grasonville
Holiday Inn Grasonville
Holiday Inn Express Grasonville
Grasonville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing