We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a friends bachelorette party here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Kent Narrows Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Grasonville
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had a friends bachelorette party here”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

There was bed bugs there and I got bit! Absolutely disgusting. We were here for a bachelorette party. Only in the hotel for less than a day. I realized I got bit the next day. I called to let the front desk person know what happened and she was oblivious. I had to tell her to tell someone to check the room before putting anyone else there. She said a manager would call me back the next day and I still haven’t heard back.

Room Tip: DON'T stay here. It's gross.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Kent Narrows Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
All guest concerns and feedback are taken very seriously by our employees and management staff at the hotel. We apologize that our staff did not effectively communicate how seriously we take any report of a potential pest issue in a guest room – particularly bed bugs.

Upon receiving your call we immediately put this room off-market. Our management team at the hotel inspected the room and did not find any evidence of bed bugs. We also called our professional pest extermination company first thing Monday morning and had them come to the hotel and inspect the room. They also did not find any evidence of bed bugs in your guest room.

As everyone has seen/read through the media this year, unfortunately bed bugs are now becoming a very wide-spread issue in the United States. Because of this issue, we have a professional pest extermination company that comes to the hotel on a regular basis and performs inspections and preventative treatment. We have also conducted extensive training with our management, housekeeping and maintenance staff on pest control (in particular in regards to bed bugs).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    116
    76
    52
    45
See reviews for
117
145
24
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fleetwood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Be aware of the hotel's cancellation policy. I called well over 24 hrs. in advance of my stay to cancel due to illness and they were going to charge me the entire amount! It was "their policy". When I asked to speak to a manager, I was told that the person I was speaking to WAS one of the managers. When I complained further, they told me that they could do a "courtesy cancellation" which was STILL a quarter of the price of the room! SUCH A RIP OFF!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Kent Narrows Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
You are correct in that travelers should always be aware of cancellation polies - as airlines, cruise ships and hotels all have cancellation policies. Our standard cancellation policy at the hotel is 48 hours in advance. This policy is communicated to all of our guests when they make their reservation (both over the phone and reservations that are made online). Any reservations that are cancelled within 48 hours of arrival are subject to a full charge of the first night room rate + tax.

The manager that you spoke with was trying to assist you, due to your circumstance, by only charging you a portion of the standard cancellation fee. We are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with the courtesy that was extended to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

While the staff here is very polite and friendly, the hotel management is obnoxious and the rooms are outdated and infested with bed bugs!!! We watched in horror after two nights of being moved to different rooms as they simply moved the infested furniture into another room!!! Wow, that is disgusting. And the rooms on the top floor constantly leak when it rains. This place is terrible and management didn't want to make amends for us being eaten alive by the hundreds of bed bugs that were all over the bed, walls, floor, yuck!!! We will NEVER stay here again no matter how great the view if you stay on the water side. HORRIBLE place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DAVID T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Kent Narrows Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We are currently in communication with TripAdvisor to have this review removed as it provides false information. While we truly appreciate all honest feedback from our guests as is helps us to improve our product and service levels, we do not feel that it is beneficial for travelers to be given false information.

Upon receiving this review, we immediately contacted our professional pest control company and had them inspect the room in question. The professional pest control company confirmed that the room was not infested with bed bugs as claimed by this reviewer. The hotel also does not have a history of having problems with bed bugs and certainly is not infested as this reviewer claims. In addition, the hotel does not have a problem with the rooms on the top floor constantly leaking. We have a contract with a professional roofing company who inspects the roof once per quarter and completes any preventative maintenance as needed in order to protect the roof and the guest rooms from water damage. This company also performs repairs throughout the year on an on-call basis should any problems arise. Preventative maintenance and protection of the hotel asset is a top priority in order to ensure the long term structural integrity of the hotel.

The claims that the hotel is outdated are also very misleading. The owners of the hotel invest money back into the hotel each year for capital improvements. The hotel is also always up-to-date with all Best Western brand standards. Over the past three years, the hotel has completed the following upgrades in all of our guest rooms: new carpet, new flat screen televisions, new bedding package and upgraded the wireless high speed internet connection to provide increased speed and performance as technology increases.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful time in Kent Narrows. Our room was very well organized and the bed was very comfortable. Some of the amenities are an elevator, indoor pool, great breakfast, and coffee in the lobby all day.
The staff was always pleasant and helpful. We also liked the green initiatives-recycling, only washing towels and linens on request or every 3 days. There are many places to kayak and bike. Multiple restaurants and bars are within walking distance and most of them with a view of Kent Narrows.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Kent Narrows Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay at the Best Western Kent Narrows Inn. We are so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful time! We will share your comments with our staff...they will be so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your guest room and the pleasant and helpful service.

It is fantastic that you were able to enjoy several of the wonderful aspects of the Kent Narrows area during your stay with us! Many of our guests really love all of the outdoor recreation options that are right outside of the hotel - biking, walking the Cross Island trail, kayaking and boating. There is really no better way to end the day in Kent Narrows than to visit one of the fabulous restaurants and dock bars within walking distance of the hotel.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with others on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Staff here were friendly and helpful - they even called up to our room to make sure all was well shortly after we checked in. Alas, they couldn't replace the very tired carpet or furniture so we said all was well. Perhaps the nest thing about the hotel was the proximity to a great bar & restaurant - Big Owls and The Narrows. The Big Owl was a great spot to view the sunset & have a drink; The Narrows offered a great meal. The motel (outside room entry) is also at the start of the Cross Island trail if you enjoy running or biking - it is a ten mile round-trip loop from one end to the other. Unfortunately, I can't recommend the hotel. Should be two star at best - Hotwire ranked it with three stars.....

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CityTravelers999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Kent Narrows Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Best Western Kent Narrows. We were so happy to hear that you thought the service was excellent and the staff was both friendly and helpful. Our staff truly loves welcoming our guests to the hotel, as if they were a guest in their own home. That is why we always like to give you a quick call once you have gotten to your room to welcome you again and make sure you have everything that you need in your room. We are so happy that you liked the location of the hotel. Being able to walk to all of the great local restaurants and dock bars, such as Big Owls and The Narrows, is one of the things that our guests really love about our hotel!

We are sorry to hear that as much as you enjoyed the staff service and our convenient location that you do not feel comfortable recommending our hotel. While we are not one of the newest hotels in the Kent Narrows area, our hotel is always up-to-date with the Best Western brand standards. In addition, each year we work on special projects to keep the hotel fresh and up-to-date. For example, over the past three years we have installed new carpeting, a new bedding package and new flat screen televisions in all of our guest rooms.

We appreciate your honest feedback and certainly hope that you would consider staying with us again when you travel to the Kent Narrows area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This hotel in the beautiful Kent Island area is a wonderful place for a getaway with plenty to see and do in the area. A big THANK YOU to the management who were very helpful to us during a recent stay for a wedding.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisburg, NC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My family lives in the North and my husband and I live in NC. We found Best Western @ KN, MD., two years on our way up North. We love the hotel for its friendly staff (Very welcoming), clean rooms and they even clean the handrails outside on the balcony. We love staying here, the last time we even bought our Yellow Lab Sadie and she's says Woof Woof. Its a lovely location, great places to eat. We're going back the end of July and August. So you know we enjoyed the hotel/staff. KN is really a beautiful place. Love the Bay-side especially !! What views Thanks KN/BW Bob N Gail

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Kent Narrows Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thanks so much for your very nice review about our "clean" hotel and "friendly" staff. We are so happy that you found us two years ago. Many folks really like our location when traveling North to South (and vice versa) - it is a really nice break from I-95! We have a wonderful team that truly loves welcoming our guests to the hotel and to this fabulous area! You are right; the views from our bayside rooms are really amazing!

Thank you again for sharing your positive experience with others on TripAdvisor. We will look forward to seeing you both (and hopefully Sadie!) on your future trips this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasonville
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kent Island
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kent Island
2.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 4 in Grasonville
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Inn at Chesapeake Bay Beach Club
4.0 mi away
Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn
13.9 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kent Narrows Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kent Narrows Inn

Property: Best Western Kent Narrows Inn
Address: 3101 Main St, Grasonville, MD 21638-1029 (Formerly Comfort Inn Kent Narrows)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Grasonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Grasonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Kent Narrows Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Kent Narrows Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kent Narrows Hotel Grasonville
Best Western Grasonville
Kent Narrows
Grasonville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing