We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service.”
Review of Fisherman's Inn

Fisherman's Inn
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Grasonville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A dining landmark since 1930 for lunch and dinner open year round. Relax as you dine in spacious dining rooms with a panoramic view of the water. There is also a must see G scale train running on 280 feet of track suspended over two dining rooms. Our menu features only the freshest crabmeat for our award winning crab cakes, fish, oysters, lobster, shrimp, steak and clams. Surf &Turf combos, we pair a juicy cut of roasted prime rib with our choice of 7 delicious seafoods.
Oxford, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and service.”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stopped here at the end of a full day's drive on the way home to Oxford from Florida. We ate at the bar. We asked the chef to make a dish that wasn't on the menu per se, and he agreed, and it was the best! Also, the seafood quesadilla was the very best, the pastry light and absolutely delicious. We heartily recommend The Fisherman's Inn!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DaphnedeGuerre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    169
    62
    20
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great Cream of Crab”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

First let me say this place has a train that runs on the ceiling of the restaurant. And i was not aware of this until my husband mentioned this was one of his favorite seafood places as a child because of it. So we had to make a quick stop when passing by...so this place holds some special childhood memories for him. Other than that, the seafood was good for the dead of winter.

Cream of Crab was 10/10 and the Crab Cakes were also very good. I would recommend for a family gathering. Not fancy, but it is pricing since its seafood.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FFXTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Really worth the drive across the Bay Bridge to experience this seafood restaurant. This was our 2nd visit,first time was during the Christmas season in 2011 and we had to wait 40 minutes to be seated today was the Saturday before New Year's at 6 pm and we were seated promptly. My boyfriend had the butternut squash/cream and crab soup, and the Sea Bass/shrimp and grits special. I had the cream of crab soup and the Crab Imperial, their specialty. The entire meal, soups, entrees were top notch. No room for dessert. The holiday decorations were up and very festive, the train overhead added to the enjoyable atmosphere. Service was good. The oyster plate collection near the front of the lobby area was very pretty to look at. Good 2nd visit, would go there again. No reservations accepted.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tranquility2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linthicum Heights, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Never fails us.”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We have been to the Fisherman's Inn three times over the past year. Every time we go the food is good and plentiful. It can be on the more expensive side but you are definitely getting what you pay for. The menus are all available on-line so you have a good idea of what your cost will be.

The decor is older but well maintained. There is a train that runs along the ceiling which helps keep the kids entertained while they wait.

Tonight I had the Seafood Cioppino which was from the "Casual dining" menu on the last page (sorry this one isn't on the website). It was plenty of food for me. My 7 year old had the steamer pot from the appetizer and was thrilled, my 10 year old had the shellfish linguine, my 13 year old had the broiled trio and my husband had the Mako special. Everyone was thrilled and we brought a lot home despite healthy appetites. My 7 & 10 year olds also learned how much they loved cream of crab soup when they snuck bites of my husband's bowl of soup.

We were part of a party of 10 and everyone went home happy and stuffed. I don't know how anyone would have room for dessert though those options looked very tempting. In fact, two of the 10 took home a slice of coconut cream pie.

It is not super fancy. It's good food with fair prices and a good place to take a large group with or without kids.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Familyof5fromMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Disappointment on the Chesapeake”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

After seeing the annual St Michael MD Christmas parade we were thinking about lunch and our next stop in Annapolis. With so many fine choices in St Michael's and Annapolis it was hard to choose but we settled on splitting up the trip with a stop by the Bay Bridge. Being a Saturday the restaurant had about half the tables occupied and wait staff scurrying about. Having had many a fine dinner there we did not give it a second thought to get some good food for lunch. The three of us went across the food groups with one getting the chicken special, one a seafood quesadilla, and a piece of broiled rockfish (striped bass) with crab imperial. The chicken and fish both had very plain and unappealing presentations. Basically a very small portion on a very large, barren white plate. The chicken and seafood quesadilla were reported as very good tasting and the portion size reasonable. The fish was an extremely small portion for $19.95. The crab imperial on top of the fish was a very thin coating that might have added up to a tablespoon in total. the fish was also overcooked and quite chewy. I should have returned the meal but with guests and an otherwise enjoyable outing just toughed out. Eighty five dollars for lunch for three without alcohol, painful lunch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherman's Inn also viewed

 

Been to Fisherman's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing