We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Clean and Colonial” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casselman Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casselman Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grantsville
Certificate of Excellence
Gaithersburg, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean and Colonial”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed in the motel for one night on the advice of a family member. We were not too crazy about staying at a motel due to motels reputation but this place was clean. The room had a queen size bed with a microwave and a small fridge. We didn't use it but it look clean. The bathroom was spacious as it was handicap accessible. The AC unit was a bit loud and would turn off after a couple of hours. Not sure if it was a timer settings we didn't check. The restaurant in the annex hotel was very good highly recommend it. The food was fresh and very tasty. It seems the hotel portion is a bed and breakfast place. Seen some of the rooms in the hotel and they were spacious with colonial type furniture. There was a lounge are next to the restaurant with a couple of rocking chairs and fireplace. We sat there and chatted. It felt like we were back in time when life was simple. Overall very clean and affordable. Would visit again.

Room Tip: My In-laws stayed in a hotel suite. Their room had no shower, just a bathtub. If you prefer a stand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    25
    13
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
14
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Lenox
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I stopped at this motel on the advice of other drivers and couldn't have been happier. The staff is wonderful, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, the restaurant is very good (and very affordable), and they even sell wonderful bags of candies and canned jelly & honey (plus the cool maple syrup in a collectable jar that I bought). It was a very nice stay.

There was one problem with the room (due to an oversight by the cleaning people). I called the front desk to let them know and request some new towels. They offered to get me a new room, but I told them it was fine as is. The next day they apologized again and I told them again that everything was fine. Four days later I received a letter from them again apologizing for everything not being perfect and it included a gift certificate to the restaurant (one more substantial than I would have expected from anyone).

You simply don't get service like that ANYWHERE on the road these days....even at rooms twice the price. I won't ever stay anywhere else when I'm in the area.

Room Tip: The rooms are all good, and all face the parking spaces (all on the 1st floor). There isn't a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoazy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinton, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We were here last August and stayed in the "motel style" rooms behind the main building. The accomodations were nice, but the true ammenity was the restaurant. There are only a couple of places to stay in Grantsville, and not many restaurants, so this seemed to be the general eatery for the locals. The food was fantastic and the staff was gracious and accomodating. Can't wait to stay there again this summer.

Room Tip: While we opted for the rooms away from the main building, I would urge anyone who has a historical i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

For the rate, I was expecting much less. But we had a good room - very large, very clean, two sinks, one queen bed.

The two corner rooms on the bottom floor of the motel are a little bit larger than the rest, so you might want to request Room 18 or 29.

We didn't stay in the inn - it's gorgeous but very historic. So the tubs are great in the rooms but no showers - and we were working so we went with motel. If you like tho, there are two historic rooms in the inn for the same price as the motel, and they are just beautiful and would be nice for a romantic weekend get away.

The Inn restaurant is nice. Only two drawbacks, for us, were that the restaurant is closed Sundays and we like a big sunday brunch. Fortunately, 2 minutes down the street you can find a great one at Pine Alps. So, no biggie.

Also, no alcohol is served. Which was fine but we do like to have a glass of wine with dinner.

Otherwise - it's a great place to stay all the people are really nice.

Room Tip: Get room 18 or 29 they are bigger than the rest, being on the corners
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYfoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
163 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Decided to stay here when everything in Morgantown was booked because of a football game. Stayed at the motor inn behind main house. Room was huge. And clean. It was very quiet from street noise but the walls seem very thin. We could hear people so well we used sign language at times to communicate.

Room Tip: Room walls seem very thin in the motor inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TEX2MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

While antiquing in the area we had the wonderful fortune to stay at this old historic facility. We stayed in the motor lodge and not the Inn. We were amazed at the size of the king room. The bathroom was also spacious. We look forward to our next trip to the area and will stay again.

The restaurant was tasty, the bakery goods wonderful.

Don't expect a four star facility, but it's a great place to spend a night...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kyem53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed at the Casselman Inn on a weekend trip to Grantsville in October 2013. I stayed in the motor inn behind the historic inn. The room was very basic -- think bed, TV, sink, toilet, bathtub/shower. The room was reasonably clean; the bed was reasonably comfortable. The staff was friendly and responsive to requests. Bring your own hair dryer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiistory-Buff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantsville
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Grantsville
3.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
19.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
14.2 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Failinger's Hotel Gunter
Failinger's Hotel Gunter
#3 of 6 in Frostburg
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Frostburg
Hampton Inn Frostburg
#1 of 6 in Frostburg
4.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
16.3 mi away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
4.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casselman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casselman Inn

Property: Casselman Inn
Address: 113 Main St, Grantsville, MD 21536-1258
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > Grantsville
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grantsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casselman Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Casselman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing