We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Wonderful trip back in time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casselman Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casselman Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grantsville
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Wonderful trip back in time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

While antiquing in the area we had the wonderful fortune to stay at this old historic facility. We stayed in the motor lodge and not the Inn. We were amazed at the size of the king room. The bathroom was also spacious. We look forward to our next trip to the area and will stay again.

The restaurant was tasty, the bakery goods wonderful.

Don't expect a four star facility, but it's a great place to spend a night...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kyem53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    27
    14
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
17
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed at the Casselman Inn on a weekend trip to Grantsville in October 2013. I stayed in the motor inn behind the historic inn. The room was very basic -- think bed, TV, sink, toilet, bathtub/shower. The room was reasonably clean; the bed was reasonably comfortable. The staff was friendly and responsive to requests. Bring your own hair dryer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiistory-Buff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were just passing through. No frills, but clean and comfortable. Nice to stay in non-chain spot and staff was very nice. We stayed in the motel behind the inn - plenty quiet, common room if you want to use it. Ice and water filter with cold water for filling water bottles in the lobby of the motel.
historic inn with restaurant. Very basic, old-fashioned food in the restaurant (e.g., they have ye ole canned peach and pear on iceberg lettuce with cottage cheese salad!). good home-made bread and desserts, and you can get just a sandwich or soup for dinner, you don't have to get a full meal.

Bring your own toiletries - only small sample type packet of shampoo and small soap. Great value, would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turi_dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed in the motor lodge. You definitely can't beat the price but the room lacks basic amenities. There is no closet, no dresser, and no counter space around the sink. We came in from riding the motorcycle in the rain and had two hangers on a hanging rack. We had to drape things on the two wooden chairs in the room in order to dry things out. The beds were doubles, the TV is old and small, and there is no coffee pot, hair dryer, or iron, which are pretty basic these days. We didn't even feel that the room was exceptionally clean. The carpet and bedspreads had stains. But we have also stayed in worse hotels so in a pinch, we'd stay there again.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We love the Casselman Inn and stay there multiple times each summer while enjoying deep creek lake. Just a brief 15 minute trip from Deep Creek at a quarter of the price of anything around the lake. We keep our boat at the lake and use the Casselman as our nightly base for 6-8 days each month during the summer. The rooms are very basic but clean and comfortable. The restaurant is excellent for breakfast (the only meal we generally eat there). You can not beat the price and they have a WONDERFUL NO PETS and NO SMOKING policy!

Room Tip: There a re a couple more "quaint and cozy" rooms in the old inn itself that are great for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beefdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbott, Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I am a budget traveler and at $58 a night this is hard to beat. The rooms were large and clean. The TV was small and so was the bed. If you have to have a large soft bed, this is not the place for you. The service was great and so was the atmosphere. I love historical places and this was a place you could feel the history. We stayed in the newer part of the hotel. I think the rooms are a little more in the inn but that would have been a nice experience. We were there for my nephews graduation and had two rooms, so we went as cheap as possible. The restaurant was good with homemade bread and wonderful pancakes. The Angus burger was good but warning the Casselman special sandwich is a deep fried sandwich. Yes bread and all is deep fried. All in all it was a great stay on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemonstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, Only stay in the rear - Motor Lodge portion of the hotel. Called the hotel to advise a late check in, Room was very clean, Heater worked perfectly fine. View was of the small stream in front of the hotel. Couldn't hear any road noise from US 40. Rates are considerably cheaper than the Comfort Inn in Grantsville. Beds were comfortable. Ample lighting in room. Bathroom & room itself were very clean.

Room Tip: Odd Numbered Rooms that face the front = US 40 side of the motor inn provide a view of a small strea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMTK41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantsville
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Grantsville
3.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
19.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Gunter Hotel
Gunter Hotel
#3 of 6 in Frostburg
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
16.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Braddock Inn
16.3 mi away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
4.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casselman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casselman Inn

Property: Casselman Inn
Address: 113 Main St, Grantsville, MD 21536-1258
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > Grantsville
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grantsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casselman Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Casselman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing