We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”

Spruce Forest Artisan Village
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Features local crafts in restored log buildings.
Newark, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I found things very pricey, with not enough products to entice you into buying something. Nothing really impressed me. It reminded me of the few lone craftsman that show up at the larger flea markets. Everybody just walks by.

But take my review with a grain of salt. Apparently, 99% of the visitors love this place. It does nothing for this old biker, and I imagine it won't be very entertaining for the average hubby either. Once you get past the metal shop, it's all over for me.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 85Harley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    23
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia, USA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice to visit”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

It is very nice to walk around the forest from cabin to cabin and visit the artists. There is a wood shop, carving shop, old cabin tour and several others. Stop in when you dine at Penn Alps as it is right across the parking lot.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JasperVirginia_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union Bridge, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Walk thru this small wooded area with log cabins moved to the site for artisan's to show you and sell you their wares. Skip Penn Alps Restaurant that is right there by this area. It's nothing special. Talk with craftsman over pottery, iron work, glass work, soap making, etc. It was a nice visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BestBuddyA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great craft village”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Several different craft houses to visit. All of which had beautiful workmanship. A great place to get presents or just to get yourself a present!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Folks”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We enjoy our visit each year to see familiar faces and some new. You learn some history about the area and you get to see artisians at work. You can even do a little shopping for those hard to buy for family and friends. Nice place to be underneath the trees.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MargaritaR451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spruce Forest Artisan Village also viewed

Grantsville, Garrett County
Grantsville, Garrett County
 
Accident, Garrett County
Grantsville, Garrett County
 

Been to Spruce Forest Artisan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing