We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Mostly Satisfying Experience!”
Review of Bistro Blanc - CLOSED

Bistro Blanc
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: RT 32
Transit: None
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
393 reviews
339 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A Mostly Satisfying Experience!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

My wife and I made reservations at Bistro Blanc for our anniversary. We started our meal by ordering a bottle of Merlot which was reasonably priced, and very tasty. My wife ordered Arctic Char and I ordered the Roast Duck. When our meals arrived, the presentation was excellent, even if the portion size was small. The food was delicious. The Passion-fruit Raspberry Bomb dessert, was an explosion of flavor and matched well with the Merlot. We will most likely try Bistro Blanc again. Oh, I forgot to mention, our waitress was in a bad mood that day, which distracted from our dining experience. Maybe it was because it was "Burger Night", and it was rather loud in the dining room.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LordThomMohr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    27
    15
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highland, Maryland
Level Contributor
222 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“One of Howard County's Best”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We have been here a half dozen times and this place never disappoints. Our standard is the Bistro steak with a gouda couscous that is simply delicious. There is always something interesting in the daily specials. The cheese plate, mussels and brussels sprouts apps are great. Preparation and presentation are impeccable. They have an amazing wine selection and a couple of Enomatics wine dispensing machines, that allow you to try all kinds of wines. I tried for example a half glass of Finca La Anita, a rare Petit Verdot wine from Argentina that's sells for $28 per glass and almost $100 a bottle. It was delicious. My only pet peeve is they do not use white table cloths but rather bare wood. I do not like it. Place is expensive, about $80 pp with drinks. Reservations are a must on weekends.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MonGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent-to-Very Good”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

For the 4 years since it opened, we would rate Bistro Blanc as Excellent. Then, last year, 3 of us went there for lunch and the experience was awful.

To back up, except for the awful lunch (which was the last time we have been there) the food was always excellent, creative, well presented, served well and in a friendly manner, costly but not prohibitive.

Then, the lunch from the depths. On that day, all 3 of us got simply awful meals. Service was just OK, in comparison of the previous years of excellent service. But the food, most dishes of which we had had before with excellent results, was served poorly, tiny portions, seemed to be left over from a previous day, long in coming to the table, and almost tasteless. All t hose negatives for the same high price as usual. It was like the chef did not show up and a non-skilled waiter prepared our meals.

That one experience drove us off and we have never been back since. It is a shame, since we had so many excellent meals there, but to take another chance at paying a very high price for very bad food is not something to which we will subject ourselves again.

The Very Good rating I gave it was based on all the past excellent meals, combined with this one awful visit. Otherwise, it would be rated Excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Friendship, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very gluten friendly!!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We have eaten here many times and they are always
Accommodating with my gluten allergy! And the sauces are awesome I never get them! I could eat here every nite great atmosphere, wine deserts are just ok my only complaint.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David7771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Still hungry!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

The portions are ridiculously small and overpriced. Three small slices of beets in appetizer. Maybe six brussel sprouts in appetizer and a $10 small small bowl of mushroom soup. So $30 for appetizers. When the entrees came it got really crazy. The shorts ribs was one rib. It looked like a brownie bite. The food tasted great but everyone was still hungry. At over $100 per couple we opted to get dessert elsewhere. We couldn't take a chance on the size of the desserts. Restaurant is beautiful and mixed drinks were great. I like artsy beautiful food but do not skimp on food items that cost basically nothing. We are not huge eaters and were still hungry.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jumponin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Blanc also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing