We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish & chips and a pint of beer is always good”

The Irish Inn at Glen Echo
Reserve with OpenTable
The Irish Inn at Glen Echo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Glen Echo
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: MacArthur Blvd
Transit: 5 minute walk from Glen Echo bus stop
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fish & chips and a pint of beer is always good”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Especially if you've gotten too much sun, spending the afternoon at the Glen Echo Park, it's great to walk the couple hundred yards to the Irish Inn.
Good restaurant fare, delicious salads. But for me, the main attraction is the Sunday afternoon Jazz Jam session. The place gets packed, and some of the best musicians from the DC area come out to play. Pianist Robert Redd usually leads the session, and really great players come to sit in. What an unexpected treat.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chrisjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    68
    28
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Level 6 Contributor
1,602 reviews
832 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 530 helpful votes
“A True Irish Pub”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Good food, good beer, good service and good times at the Irish Inn! You are embraced when you walk through the door by a friendly staff and a place that "reeks" of Ireland. Take time to enjoy dinner with an eye to sharing experience with friends. Don't expect outstanding food but do expect to be filled with a good hearty supper.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jeffl499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Nice building (particularly the outdoor area) but food and service is just average. Staff were young servers who mean well but clearly poorly trained. Potato and leeks soup was thin, lacking much flavor. Entrees were quite small, perhaps even "tapas" size. Obviously it is good neighbor bar for the older set. Probably has seen better days. Not worth going out of your way for. Other restaurants in the area much better. For Irish fare, the Irish restaurant in Falls Church, Va is much better.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarpeDiem45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“If only the food was on a par with everything else”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We have been to the Inn several times over the past 25 years and each time hope the food has improved as the location is ideal. It hasn't based on the brunch we had there on May 4th.

It has good parking. It has a great pubby atmosphere. The welcome, service, scones for the table on arrival and the beer were all terrific, We had our dog with us and they found a patio spot where the dog could be tied up near us and even came out with a bowl of water for him. So it may seem a bit cherlish to criticize the food but we do so in the hope that it will improve one of these days so we want to visit it more often.
The food: two had the quiche which they found most unappetizing and the accompanying salad very ordinary while I had the American breakfast. The eggs were greasy, the bacon flabby and the "hash browns" a horrible flat grey, tasteless pancake.

Come on Irish Inn. Look after the food as well as everything else and you will have a gold-mine on your hands.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gillraynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Corned beef and cabbage anyone”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Another of our neighborhood restaurants - open for lunch and dinner and they take reservations unlike others near us, a plus.
It's not the most attractive restaurant but they have outdoor seating when it's warm. (Though it's quite near the parking lot). The food is your typical Irish fare. It's average and, I must say, better on a cold night, as it's heavy food. Their soups are probably the best thing on the menu. Salads are just very average, and the fish tacos have been sent back more than once - never order them again. Bangers and mash (sausage and mashed potatoes) lack the traditional English/Irish gravy that they could use sparingly. But it is missed, I must say - to be authentic. All in all, this is just a neighborhood place, not one that I'd go out of my way to dine at.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Irish Inn at Glen Echo also viewed

Glen Echo, Montgomery County
Cabin John, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 

Been to The Irish Inn at Glen Echo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing