We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best crabs in Maryland”

Seaside Restaurant & Crab HSE
Ranked #5 of 261 Restaurants in Glen Burnie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best crabs in Maryland”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Once again our trip through Baltimore was highlighted by a crab dinner at Seaside in Glen Burnie. Living in Jacksonville, Florida, the word had spread about this hidden spot for crabs just outside the city of Baltimore. Now it has become a regular stop when in Maryland.

Every year a large group of Maritime Industry veterans converge on Baltimore to attend a Crabfeast sponsored by the Baltimore Propeller Club. Ironically, many of us find ourselves at Seaside the night before having Steamed Crabs, Crabcakes, and assorted beverages. The crabs are so good that I do not even eat them the next day at the feast!

The owner, Vern, is always there to greet us. His staff is very attentive and friendly. The food is prepared perfectly, Old Bay and beer are a perfect match.

I highly recommend this local spot if you are looking for the best crabs in town. It is only a few miles out of town, easily found via your GPS. Worth the trip every time! swfernan60

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    67
    18
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“BEST CRABS EVER!”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We had the largest and best crabs that we have had in a long time. The wait staff is super nice! Prices are very reasonable too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dawnmyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, MD
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Food & service, top notch”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We went on the 4th. of July, a day before my birthday. The restaurant we usually go to was closed due to the power outages. We have been to Seaside before and the food was always good. Due to the extreme heat, a lot of people decided to go out to eat instead of having cookouts. They were very crowded. We had a 45 min. wait and it was well worth it. The hostess was very pleasant. Our server was Ralph who could not have been more attentive. The cream of crab soup was as good as if not better than Sunset restaurant, big chunks of lump crab meat and seasoned to perfection. I had the crab imperial which is the best I have ever had, also big chunks of lump crab. We also had stuffed shrimp and a Prime rib my husband said was perfectly cooked. We were very impressed with everything. The only down side was the heat. It was very hot in the restaurant, due to the hot temps ouside and all the crabs being steamed inside. The prices are a little expensive but the old saying you get what you pay for is correct. I never mind paying a higher price for top notch food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheaspeake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, VA
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent food, bad service”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Crabs are out of this world! Prime rib was perfect! Waitress seemed as if she was doing us a favor! Crabs took almost an hour to arrive at our table. Worth the wait! A little pricy at $35 per dozen for small crabs.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“stinky bathrooms”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I don't go there anymore because when I would sit on the non-bar side all I smelt was the odor from the bathroom. When it first opened everything was good, but not as good as it was.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seaside Restaurant & Crab HSE also viewed

 

Been to Seaside Restaurant & Crab HSE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing