We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite Local Thai Spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai-gour Cafe - CLOSED

Thai-gour Cafe
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
185 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Favorite Local Thai Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Service is always friendly and welcoming, food is always good. If you come on Friday nights they usually have live music in the bar area - very informal kinda deal with local performers. I agree with one of the previous posters though, that it's a little odd they leave the TV on during the performances.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cristal0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    4
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good and hot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Finally I found a place that serves me spicy food. I have a flair for spice and typically when I ask for 3 pepper spicy I get it back with a hint of heat, not here. It had heat but also good flavor. The service was wonderful, I went with coworkers who had dinned before and the waitress remembered them. It is a quiet place, nothing fancy. Good food and service are what matter!
For three of us at lunch the bill was only $26-that's with drinks.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank M-wiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best since Thailand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

We liked it so much we went right back. The seafood soup as so good we almost licked the bowl. Beware the peppers as 1 pepper dignation is still quite spicy. Very nice and prompt service.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelhoundMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Authentic, Friendly, DELICIOUS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

This thai restaurant is the best I've had. While from the outside you would barely know this place exists, it is absolutely worth a try. It would be a good option for a date, lunch with co workers or solo. With Thai being my favorite ethnic food, I've tried a lot of places in the area. The owners of this restaurant do all of the service and cooking, and they are so adorable and friendly. Be sure to note, if you ask for spicy, it will be SPICY. My favorites are the Drunken Noodles with Chicken, Chicken Pik Khing, and the Chicken Pik Paw. I've honestly never had anything even remotely mediocre from this place. The ingredients are fresh, the flavor is amazing and the service is absolutely awesome. The prices are definitely reasonable too.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mllryzim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulverde, Texas
Level Contributor
482 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 834 helpful votes
“It Was Okay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We love Thai food and always try to eat it in every city we visit. I must say this was a below average experience. We found the food lacking in flavor and the herbs and spices underutilized. Not so good.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Emil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai-gour Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing