We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was hesitant to try this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Granary Restaurant and Sassafras Grill

The Granary Restaurant and Sassafras Grill
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Georgetown
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Was hesitant to try this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

After seeing some negative reviews on another website. But since this used to be one of our favorite stops before it closed for a while, decided to stop and check out the recent management.
The upstairs restaurant was almost empty (not a good sign on a Sunday night). The menu looked good and was reasonably priced. I ordered French Dip while my companions ordered Crab Cake sandwiches. The French Dip was excellent (could have used horseradish though) and the Crab Cake sandwiches were spectacular - served with Sassafras mud (a concoction of A1, worcestershire , mustard). Salads were perfect, service was perfect, view was perfect. This place will be back on our list of regular stops.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank F36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    14
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
158 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“On the waterfront”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We ate at the Sassafras Grill last week. The Nachos were good the burger looked good but was tasteless. Service was very very slow and there was only one other couple to wait on.
This week we ate upstairs. What a difference! The place is beautiful, the service was excellent and the food was great. I had the 1/2 & 1/2 soup (1/2 Manhattan crab with 1/2 Cream crab), I want more! That is my new soup. Total yummers!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millington, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great waterfront dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had received a gift certificate for Christmas, but wanted to wait until winter finally ended before using it since the waterfront view is so spectacular. We went a few weeks ago and enjoyed a yummy dinner overlooking the river. Most folks were still working on their boats so not too many were out boating but the view was still great.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank number3girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
Level Contributor
123 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Enjoy the sunset”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

You just can't beat the location for gorgeous sunsets on the Sassafras River. The night we dined with friends the main dining area was not open & we ate in the bar by the fireplace. This actually was very cozy but we didn't have an unobstructed view of the sunset like you would have in the main dining room. Our server was delightful, fun & attentive to our needs. Quite a few members in our group ordered the Maryland Crab soup and said it was mostly vegetables with very little crab & needed seasoning (Old Bay suggested). Again, quite a few in our group ordered crab cakes. Unfortunately, these again met w/disappointment. However, the Seared Ahi Tuna dinner was very good & the Fried Oyster Dinner was declared the best of the evening. When reading this review please keep in mind that crab was not in-season & oysters were in-season! One member of our group ordered a specialty hamburger and it was "OK".

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank naiad51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, DE
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Location with food to match”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

For years this restaurant had been a destination for meal with a view. When the restaurant reopened in the Summer the Menu became the star attraction. Very attentive wait staff, super menu with great desserts.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CUB45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Granary Restaurant and Sassafras Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Granary Restaurant and Sassafras Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing