We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Beautiful Historic Inn"”

Kitty Knight House Inn & Restaurant
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The historic Kitty Knight House Inn and Restaurant, on Maryland’s Eastern Shore, offers fine lodging and casual upscale gourmet dining. Waterfront weddings and group celebrations are our specialty. The Deck, open from Memorial Day through Labor Day, offers lunch daily, featuring live music on the weekends. Please visit our website for more details.
Dover, DE
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“"Beautiful Historic Inn"”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Spent New Years Eve at the Kitty Knight House. Food was outstanding, the crab bisque was the best I ever had and the steaks were done to perfection. The restaurant was busy due to New Years Eve but wait staff was very friendly and attentive.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CUB45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    24
    12
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Class Hospitality”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

My wife and I have discovered many excellent restaurants on Maryland's eastern shore, and our experience at Kitty Knight House was no exception. In fact, it was truly remarkable! The first class food, service and historic ambiance can be complemented only by the friendly and personal attention we received from our hosts, Mary and Ralph, as well as Faith, our server. We were completely delighted by every aspect of our dining experience and highly recommend the Kitty Knight House to anyone who has an appreciation for first class quality.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ImperialCrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, DE
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving Buffet, Nov. 22, 2012”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Web site was excellent advertising with a superb menu for Thanksgiving Dinner Buffet and even though it was expensive, it was an incentive for us to try this restaurant. We are senior citizens on a fixed income but we still enjoy eating in a lot of good restaurants on special occasions.

Buffet was disappointing and service was terrible. The servers at the buffet tables were not available and the waiter was spending too much time serving another table that already had a waitress. We received our drinks, coffee and water right away but nothing else (rolls and butter). We had to ask for rolls and refills. Everytime we needed a refill on beverages, we had to locate our waiter. The full menu on the buffet was not there and ran out of food quickly. The rolls were stale, turkey dried out and prime rib was sliced thin and sparingly. Most of all everything was cold! If reservations are required, quanity of food should be accommodating for everyone and served fresh and warm. There is no excuse, there wasn't that many people in the restaurant (light). Also, the gratuity was added in for 19% for a party of two, more than the standard 15% for less and bad service. We like to base the amount of our tip on the quality of service received!

Therefore, we will not recommend this restaurant for price, food and service.

The Evons

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilton, Md.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome views!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Food is vastly improved, View from the deck overlooks the beautifull Sassafras river and several yacht clubs-stunning sunsets! Second to done!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gitfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsend, DE
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great outside dining”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I was here with about 20 other peopl and they managed the large group beautifully. The food was good and the umbrella kept the sun at bay.

Helpful?
Thank gerrimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kitty Knight House Inn & Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing