We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Calif Mex!”
Review of Mi Casita

Mi Casita
Ranked #13 of 83 Restaurants in Gambrills
Restaurant details
Davidsonville, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Authentic Calif Mex!”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

So many Mexican restaurants here in the greater DC area turn out to be Tex Mex or Cuban or Spanish or something other than Calif Mex. Mi Casita has the Calif Mex flavors we've been missing. The salsa is fabulous. I think it's homemade, but I'm not positive. I'm a big fan of the restaurant's enchilada verdes and spinach enchiladas. The restaurant offers frijoles negros (black beans), which is a big plus in my book. We come here often, and we're never disappointed. Oh, the wait staff is wonderful, too!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sactosunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    33
    8
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Underwhelming experience”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We decided to give Mi Casita a try after driving by it many times and reading favorable reviews online.

We arrived on a Friday night, found parking rather easily, and went inside. We had to wait 20 minutes, which isn't a huge deal.

Once we were sat, we were a little overwhelmed by the lack of flexibility on the menu. It is a large menu, but it reads at the top of each page "NO SUBSTITUTIONS!" I thought this was a little strange, especially for a Mexican restaurant. Also, the fact that most dinners here cost above 15 dollars, I'd think you'd be willing to allow substitutes since you're paying so much for Mexican food.

Now, the food was above average and the portions were large, but it has nothing about it that I haven't seen in other Mexican restaurants. Plus, for the price you pay there better be a large quantity of food.

The atmosphere here feels quite cramped. The tables are close together, and when it's crowded, I can't imagine having to cram into one of the tables.

We were both a little disenchanted with our waiter as well. It may have been a bad day for him or this may be a bad egg, but he asked us if we were ready to order twice within a couple of minutes of us sitting down. When we politely said we weren't ready, he rolled his eyes at us, which was a little unprofessional. Combine that with the hardened food my girlfriend found on the bottom of her plate and the fact that they didn't refill our chips even though we had a bowl full of salsa sitting for 15 minutes, then you could say we were underwhelmed by the service we received.

Overall, I'm not a picky guy, and maybe it was a bad night for Mi Casita, but for the price and the wait we endured, I was not impressed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank suppressor86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Authentic & Yummy!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Really good place to eat. I saw it on apple maps when I searched Mexican places & mi Casa popped up.

We were really happy with everything! I had the Pollo al Choriso & it was excellent. Good portion and tasted very fresh. My wife had a steak taco and a chicken burrito. She really liked both of them. No room for dessert, but I wish I did have room.

I would reccomend this place to a friend for sure!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soundadvice07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Good selections”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stopped into Mi Casita with my daughters about 8:30 on a Fridat night. We still had about a 10 minute wait for a table. The decor is vibrant and the service was very good. We started with margarita's - one regular ($5.75 -12 oz) and one large ($10.95 - 26oz.) that were very good. They bring chips and salsa to the table right away that were adequate but nothing special. Dinner came quickly. The chicken fajitas ($15.50) were a very generous portion and came sizzling. They were quite good. We also had the Tacos de Carnitas ($13 for 3) which were also a generous size and quite good and the Mexican steak which was quite spicy but good. We ended with the fried ice cream to share which was also the very standard dish. Meal for 3 with tax and tip was $87.

I would definitely return but would try some of the less standard dishes. I have to say my very good is more for service and atmosphere and options.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Local Latino Food!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This cozy restaurant is always busy and that is because the food is excellent and the service is just as good! If you are looking for some latin flavor, go to Mi Casita! You can get fresh guac, and anything you are craving!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Casita also viewed

 

Been to Mi Casita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing