We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best crab cakes”

Blue Dolphin Seafood Bar & Grill
Ranked #10 of 83 Restaurants in Gambrills
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Just opened about a month ago. HUGE menu...seafood but so much more. It has a large bar area, plus a separate dining room. The atmosphere is nice, service kinks are being worked out, and the food is fantastic. The crab cakes give most a run for their money in this area of crab cake experts.
Gambrills, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best crab cakes”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband says these are the best crab cakes around. I love the salmon and flounder. Very fresh and cooked just right. Their baked potatoes and spinach are also our favorites. Excellent service and always friendly. We get there early because the place is packed after 6PM.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mona t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    52
    22
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Killeen, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Crab cake meal”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great lump meat crab cake! But seating was not great. Salad was a little wimpy and bread could have been better tasting..

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank iv_fortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One and Done!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Decided to check out the Blue Dolphin for dinner. The food was awful! Cream of crab soup was salty, too much butter and even after requesting sherry to add, it was far too milky. Had to be one of the worst in Maryland. The salad was mostly iceberg lettuce with one tomato and literally one piece of dark green (I think a spinach leaf). The entree appeared to be a frozen food product they just microwaved - certainly not freshly prepared. The 'so-called' crab cake was big and falling apart. Terrible presentation overall. I don't even believe this place has a legitimate 'chef'. This is food I would not serve at a homeless shelter. Anyone who feels differently obviously does not know 'good' food. Thank goodness we ordered wine to abate the bad food! One and done!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TNT_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed.....”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was my second trip to this restaurant in six months. This time I ordered the shrimp and crabcake dinner with a salad and sauteed spinich. My BF had the double crabcake dinner. First, we had an appetizer of calamari. It was hot, fresh, and plentiful! Three to four people could have shared the serving easily. Salads (garden) were fresh - I can tell when salads have been sitting pre-prepared in a refrigerator - these were NOT that way, also plentiful in portion. Then the entrees - both were hot and delicious. The spinach was lightly seasoned with a little Feta cheese sprinkled on top. Mmmmm! My shrimp (jumbo) were large. Three came with the crabcake, which I ended up taking home. The crabcakes were full of mostly lump crabmeat and little filler. As I said in a previous review, they actually taste better the next day to me. I guess the seasoning has a chance to "marinate" all the way into the crabmeat (not overpowering). And they are huge! Dinner for two, appetizers, softdrink, tax, and tip (20%), came to about $90. It was worth it for good seafood...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lenflady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasteful Experience”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Blue Dolphin is a great restaurant to get fresh seafood seasoned to perfection. Although it is primarily a Seafood restaurant, yet I have ordered excellent Steak dinners from this place as well. I strongly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Maryland and staying in the Gambrills or Crofton areas. I have ate here countless times from the very first week of their Grand Opening years ago.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Dolphin Seafood Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Blue Dolphin Seafood Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing