We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lena House
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Happy Happy(Bajawa)(Great Value!)
$21
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveler rating
30
19
3
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
19
3
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh tidegrilled fishtea or coffeeevery morningday trippancakesnetsegonelectricitybemoarakboatmotorbikefloresindonesiavolcanodiving
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 64 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed in Lena House for one night. Lena House is about 29 kilometer from Maumere. You can reach it by bemo. The bungalows are ultra cheap and we can confirm the actions the owner took as written in his januari reaction on the critics. Mosquitonets are for example new - it is necessairy in wetseason. We like it very much in Lena House. The people are very kind and helpful. Don't expect the ultimate luxery, but the price is excellent for the accomodation, the service and the food.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank WWRovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The other reviews on here are correct about the atmosphere - it is a very nice relaxed place with a friendly and helpful staff. The food (i had grilled fish) is good and reasonably priced. Included breakfast was above average.

But my stay here (just one night then I switched) was very uncomfortable, maybe my least comfortable in Indonesia. The heat and humidity is Flores bad and there is no air movement in the Lena House bungalows so it is even worse.

Maumere is a high malarial zone and the mosquitos around Lena House are pretty bad. The beds are fairly comfortable and have nets but holes - some are patched and some are not.

The worst part was that I was in a bungalo with bed bugs. 24 hours after checking out and I have about 30 total welts in lines of three - breakfast lunch and dinner - all over my back and arms. They itch really bad in this heat and I don't care where you are, bed bugs in my book are not acceptable.

So ok place but you better have a low standard of comfort.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didakus S, Owner at Lena House, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment. We appreciate your straight out writing about your ‘bad experience’ in wet season in Lena house. We are very sorry to hear that you were suffering struggle with heat, humidity, mosquitos and bed bugs during your stay. We are also very sad that most of other guest experienced good things during their stay, but you experienced just the opposite.
Since reading your review, we have taken extra action for massive cleaning for the bed bugs. We dried out the spring-bed and the bed structures, sprayed with special liquid. We check and double check. Now, it is clean. We realized since begining that sooner or later, some mobile people would carry the bed bugs to our simple bungalows from some where. This quiet creature might travel on some one’s bag and land at our huts. Most of mobile people didn’t realize their existence in their pocket some times. But any way, we already and will always take control for them and double check every week.
Mosquitos are very common in wet season surrounding us. Our lena 1 is close to rice field beside us owned by local poor farmers, so the swamp area causes those to growing fastly. It is better to stay in Lena 2, ten minutes walk from Lena 1 on the beach in wet season, as it is located on dried surroundings. We suggest for all guest to have repellent, or coil when they come to any guest house in our area. For 2014, we are sewing new mosquito net for all of our bed. The old and hole net have been used for four years since the beggining. We already decided to replace all the net since the end of 2013. We are now also preparing mosquito racket in every room in Lena 1.
So, again sorry for your bad experience this time. We welcome you to visit and stay with us again and experience our improvement in the future with more comfort.

Sincerely,
Didakus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Can't write all the incredible memories about this place. Although the beach is not the best in Indonesia (coral is destroyed and dark sand) the atmosphere is fantastic. You only need to think about your next meal choice and if you're making a snorkeling trip or just staying on the beach.

Mr. Didakus and his family do their best to keep the familiar style of guesthouse. The food is the best we ate in Indonesia and, glutenfree adaption is possible.

Of course, you should go on a snorkeling trip to the near spots (Pulau Babi, Pangabatan...) and have a one day trip to the Egon Volcano. Then you only have to rest in the clean and confortable bungalows at 4 or 5 metres to the sea shore.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiworld_es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Arriving at Lena house was a huge relief for us. We just came from Maumere from the Gardena guest house (not te be recommended) We need to extend our visa and need a sponsor. In contrary to Gardena people who charge a lot of money and call it helping, sir Didacus of Lena house was happy to help us free of charge. Besides the friendliness the food is also great and reasonably priced. Bungalows are basic but cute. If you stay in Maumere just take a bemo and go here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wieger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I spent a few days in Lena House while I was waiting for my visa extension. The bungalows are basic but clean, with nice view to the beach. The location is perfect to relax for a few days. The beach is clean and with normal local life (children playing, fishermen coming back from fishing or taking care of their nets...), which is very enjoyable if you're coming from a touristy place. The staff is very discreet and friendly and Didakus helped me a lot for my visa extension. All that for a very fair price. I strongly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews