We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Thai food in Montgomery County”

Thai House Restaurant
Ranked #63 of 339 Restaurants in Gaithersburg
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Thai food in Montgomery County”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Don't let the suburban strip mall location fool you. This place is money, and is probably the best Thai food in the DC area. The pad kee mow (#41) And the Penang curry are both phenomenal. The people are very friendly, and we have never had a bad dish from there. Truly stands out in a town full of average Thai food

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Batisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    20
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
1,041 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 599 helpful votes
“Now this is what crispy duck should taste!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My companion and I had our Friday dinner at the Thai House Restaurant yesterday, June 14, 2013.The goal was for me to try their "Crispy Duck" entree and then compare it with the one we had at another Thai Restaurant located in Kentlands (Gaithersburg, Maryland).

We gave this restaurant an " Excellent "rating due to the following reasons:

Delicious foods: The crispy duck we ordered was really crispy and the meat appeared to be and tasted like that of a duck. The big noodle dish we ordered was tasty and had several seafood such as shrimps, clams,and calamari.

Big Servings: We were given big servings so we had leftover foods to take home.

Reasonable Prices: the crispy duck was for $18.95 while the noodle dish was for $10.95. With our drinks and dessert (sticky rice with sweet mangoes), our total bill plus tip amounted to about $52.00.We felt that these prices are reasonable as long as we enjoyed our foods and drinks.

Wait Staff: Three of them alternated in looking after us while we were dining. Our drinks were timely refilled and our additional order of rice was quickly provided to us.

Ambience: The restaurant is small but is very clean. I like its simple wall decorations and apple green paint.

Conclusion: We plan to return to this restaurant to try their other dishes next time we have a yearning for Thai foods.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LolaGo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fresh Ingredients”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We drove an 1.5 to get to this restaurant in hopes to find great Pad Thai. We arrived and ordered two appetizers and received them within in 5 minutes OR less from ordering and they were both very fresh and tasty. Our food was only a few minutes behind that. This was some of the fastest service I've ever experienced and everything was extremely fresh when we received it. The Pad Thai was excellent, lighter than usual but still full of flavor. I would definitely return and recommend!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laytonsville, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food in Strip Mall”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Food is always cooked fresh and to taste. Great for take out. Service is attentive. Interior of restaurant is not as depicted in TA presentation. Very disappointed in the mis-representation.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Tasty Thai, wonderful service”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I'm so lucky to have this place a few miles away. The food is always delicious. They claim to have a 1-10 rating for spiciness. I find 3-4 to be plenty of heat so I can't imagine what the really hot levels must be like!

Everything's good. We get kee mao (drunken noodles) and green curry often. Golden triangles are yummy tofu puffs. If you order carryout goong phuket it'll arrive in separate containers so the shrimp stays crispy. We begged for the gaeng karee goong (yellow curry) with chicken instead of shrimp and it was fabulous. The only thing I don't love is Gai Sub which just tastes like standard Chinese restaurant yellow curry (but my daughter loves it). They have brown rice and sticky rice available even though they aren't aren't the carryout menu.

If you're calling in an order be sure to ask about specials... One day they had duck rolls on the specials and they were so, so good! If they have crispy chicken available get it!

If you eat in, expect a tidy little place in a strip center. Nothing special about the decor, but the staff are super nice and will give you pointers about the menu if you like. They have beer and wine but no liquor available.

Note: it's small and family run, so sometimes they close early if business is slow. Call if it's getting toward closing time. Also, their website has the menu but it's a PDF file,which may not be cellphone friendly... pick your order out while you have access to a real computer.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai House Restaurant also viewed

Gaithersburg, Montgomery County
Gaithersburg, Montgomery County
 
Germantown, Montgomery County
Rockville, Montgomery County
 
Gaithersburg, Montgomery County
Gaithersburg, Montgomery County
 

Been to Thai House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing