We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton, Give These Great Associates A Better Product”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed one night at the Hilton Washington North Gaithersburg property for an overnight stay to attend a funeral on Saturday, April 12th. Here's a brief synopsis:

The Good -
1) These Hilton employees are special--from the Front Desk clerk, to housekeeping, to the restaurant associates. Great customer service, great attitudes and they genuinely were concerned that we were satisfied with our accommodations and experience. They made our happiness their personal goal. Where do you find that anymore?
2) Rooms were clean, smelled fresh and a very nice bathroom.
3) Hallways were clean and king room was spacious.

Room for Improvement -
1) This property needs a renovation. These GREAT Hilton associates deserve a product to match their level of service. The front entrance needs a major power washing with possibly some plants for beautification. The lobby needs brightening and the drab-colored furniture needs to go. The lobby was only made bright by the smiles on the associates at the Front Desk.
2) The mattress and bedding need work. The mattress was saggy in the middle.
3) The windows in the room were dirty on the outside and need to be re-sealed and done at a higher level this time.

This property has a lot of potential but it needs help. We would probably stay there again just because of the great Hilton associates we encountered in just 24 hours but, come on Hilton (if this is a Corporate owned property), you can do better. If this is a franchise property, the owner needs to take a look at all of the future revenue he's missing by not making an investment.

P.S. Since I worked for the CEO of another large hotel chain, I know a little about revenue management.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoAnnR411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (855)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

570 - 576 of 855 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

The staff was excellent. The general manager was actively involved in the guest comfort and experience. The shuttle to the metro station was efficient. The employees worked very hard and each had a committment to a positive experience for the guests. The beds were the first I have slept in that let me awake refreshed and pain free. The attentiveness to deatil was great and the staff went out of their way to ensure the best value available was presented.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I stayed at this property twice, once in January and again last week. In general, it is no different from any other Hilton. Cookie cutter rooms, clean, good bedding and so on. My package included free internet and breakfast. The internet worked well and the buffet breakfast was a cut above many. Lots of choices and apart from the dishwater coffee the food was of a reasonable standard.

The difficulties that I had both times concerned shuttle service from the closest Metro station. The first time was late evening on a very, very cold winter night and I waited a long time before discovering that the shuttle had arrive and parked just ahead of me but didn't call my cell phone for some time. In all, the time from getting off the Metro to getting on the shuttle was probably around 45 minutes. Too long on an evening with the temperature below the zero. Most recently I arrived at Shady Grove station in late afternoon and on calling the hotel was told to wait on the "west" side and that the driver had already left for the station. She would call him to see if he was still on his way or had already made a pick up and would call me back. Firstly, I don't routinely travel with a compass so finding the "west" side was a challenge. The receptionist admitted that she had never been to the metro station so she had no idea what was "west". Secondly, she didn't bother to call back so I was forced to call her again 30 minutes later to be told that I had missed the shuttle and it was on its way back. What was so hard about calling me back after volunteering that she would do so?

Not good enough for a hotel from a major chain that is charging a significant tariff. Need to do better.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

All I needed was a good bed and comfortable room, and I got that. Thermostatic control of the room was a real plus. The internet service was too slow to be useful, but I didn't have time to fully test it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Overall the hotel was okay. It was pretty clean and the service was friendly enough. The wifi was very spotty and that made working from my hotel room difficult so I found that to be disappointing. In addition, it was pretty noisy in my wing of the hotel between some kind of hammering throughout the day and other guests yelling at night. The location was very close to shopping and restaurants and right off the highway.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leahkc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Great location depending on your reason for the visit to the area. Many dining/entertainment options nearby, however, the hotel bar has an extensive scotch offering which you could buy by the flight to sample different ones.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Ross O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Nice location, nice facility, very reasonable price. I arrived late, and needed a few things to make my business trip a success. The staff was very helpful and accommodating in getting me what I needed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaithersburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
#6 of 14 in Gaithersburg
448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Gaithersburg/Washington, DC North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
#3 of 14 in Gaithersburg
442 reviews
1.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Gaithersburg - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg

Address: 620 Perry Pkwy, Gaithersburg, MD 20877-2530
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range: $87 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Washington DC North/Gaithersburg Hotel is conveniently located just outside Washington D.C. in the heart of the highly active I-270 Corridor. Gaithersburg, MD is an upscale business, entertainment and residential area in suburban Maryland, in close proximity to Bethesda, Rockville and Germantown Maryland as well as Washington, D.C. and Northern Virginia. The Metro station is close by and easily accessible via the hotel complimentary shuttle service.Style, comfort, service and convenience are pillars of the Hotel which is richly appointed throughout with the Signature Hilton Serenity Beds, 37" flat screen high definition TV's, complimentary in-room WiFi, in-rrom single cup coffee makers, luxury amentities and a host of other upgrades to make your stay comfortable. The hotel also has an indoor-outdoor pool and a fully Precor equipped health and fitness facility. For dining and entertainment, the hotel is proud of its Rooks Corner Restaurant serving three meals a day in a comfortable and inviting setting. The plentiful offerings include a full breafast buffet with omelet and waffle station as well as a la carte breakfast and for lunch and dinner are of American fare including succulent steaks, seafood sandwiches and salads. The hotel also presents a Starbucks coffee shop, and a bar and lounge with a complete selection of beverages including single malt scotches and small batch bourbons served along side complimentary hors d'oeuvres on week nights. If you are planning a meeting or conference, the hotel is fully equipped with a ballroom and meeting spaces totaling over 17,000 square feet and complete banquet and catering menus and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Washington Dc North Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Hilton Hotel Gaithersburg
Hilton Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing