We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Irricana, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Functional stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I was in Washington DC for business and this Hilton was picked purely on location.
It is certainly older than some Hilton's I have stayed at, it was clean however and the staff were very good. The gym facility was average for a Hilton but the restaurant and breakfast buffet were quite good.
All in all, this hotel is great for a few nights but nothing to write home about. As is typical in the Hilton chain, the staff were excellent, attentive and eager to please.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank metta_bhavana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongaithersburgGM, General Manager at Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hello metta_bhavana—thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at the Gaithersburg Hilton and for giving us very specific feedback, I am disappointed that you felt that the gym facility was only average as we are proud of our facility with all Precor equipment and all in good working order. However, we will be looking into upgrading some equipment beginning next year, so I will keep your comments in mind. I do appreciate the positive feedback about our staff and our breakfast buffet and have shared those comments with everyone at our staff and departmental meetings.
I hope you will again choose us for your next visit to the area.
Yale Feldman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    159
    134
    79
    45
See reviews for
127
79
49
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northport, Alabama
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel one previous time and selected due to the proximity of it compared to where I needed to visit. It has an excellent location, with plenty of parking and is near a shopping center and some local restaurants. Additionally, in the lobby area, there are about 6 computers and a printer which are complimentary for use by hotel guests. As a guest, I received free WiFi in my room, but I needed to be able to create some letters and print off them and other things from the Internet so this amenity was extremely useful.
When I made the reservation, i did so with my corporate rate, but the purpose of my trip caused my trip to be extended multiple times, both prior to arriving and during my stay. The reservations manager kindly extended my stay at the same rate, but was not responsive to my calls when I needed to extend it further (no return call despite multiple attempts on my part). However, the front desk manager was VERY cooperative and understanding of my family emergency and therefore the cause for my stay and for that I am very appreciative. I would love to stay there in the future, but their rates continue to rise and since the reservations manager will not return my calls, I have no choice but to stay elsewhere since the family emergency (ill parent) is ongoing and will require frequent travel (air, hotel, car & meals) to this area and I need to try to minimize my expenses, where possible.
Both times,I stayed on the 12th floor, away from the elevator and it is very quiet. The a/c works well which is good during the summer months. Housekeeping could be better and is just average.

Room Tip: If you prefer a quiet room, then ask for one on a high floor away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crazydukefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongaithersburgGM, General Manager at Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hello crazydukefan—It’s good to see your name again. I know you have reviewed our hotel before, but thanks for coming back. We appreciate the time you took to tell us and everyone else who reads TripAdvisor of your experiences. I appreciate the positive comments you made and apologize if you perceived any lack of attention from our reservations department. It certainly was not intended to cause your concern, but I am glad that our front desk manager was able to satisfy your needs. We certainly do want you to stay again in the future. I have shared your reservation concerns with our Reservations Manager and assure you that you will get the attention you need in the future. If you would like, please feel free to call the hotel directly and have them send your call to me. I would love to further this discussion.
I wish you the best in dealing with a family illness and hope to see you again in the hotel in the near future.
Yale Feldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Got in the room and found that there was no remote control and could not change the channel on the TV itself. Called for a remote control to be sent to my room, they delivered it to a vacant room. When checking in, couldn't get the front desk employee to get off the phone. He chatted on the phone while checking me in and just handed me the keys. No eye contact. Nice introduction.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongaithersburgGM, General Manager at Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hello Trip Advisor Mamber--I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I'm very sorry you had a disappointing experience with us and I have addressed these issues with our staff. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve. Thank you once again for your comments. I hope to have the cahnce to meet you if your travels bring you back to he area.
Yale Feldman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gaithersburg hotels

Portsmouth, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

One of the more older Hiltons I have stayed in overall pretty decent when ou see what else is in the vicinity. Could use some room make overs and add basic appliances mini fridge and microwave. The staff was very helpful when you ask them for help nice bar and dining facility. The AC is either very cold or not cold enough there is no middle temp. Toilet had a leak!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongaithersburgGM, General Manager at Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Hello Jerry J—thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Gaithersburg Hilton. I thank you for your positive comments and also thank you for your observations on where improvements can be made. We are always looking to improve our product and will add your comments to our list. Your opinion is very important to us as we move forward and continually try to improve. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Best Regards,
Yale Feldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel offers services that the traveler should not depend upon. The hotel is quite a distance from downtown DC. It offers shuttle services to the Metro station. However, you cannot reserve the shuttle in advance. It also proved to be unreliable picking us up at the station. It left without us and left us stranded. Housekeeping at this hotel also was very poor. We came back to our room to find dirty towels and garbage from the waste basket on a desk!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongaithersburgGM, General Manager at Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hello Rob990-- Thank you for staying at the Gaithersburg Hilton and for taking the time to post a review to let us know about our service. I appreciate your feedback and am very sorry you had a disappointing experience with us. I have addressed these issues with our staff. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve. Thank you once again for your comments. I hope to see you at our hotel again in the near future.
Yale Feldman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Wonderful, professional staff at both the front desk and restaurant/bar, great location, right off Hwy 270 but far enough away so that road noise was not a problem.

I got in late (around 11:00pm) and had a nice dinner at the bar that served from the full menu until 11:30pm. My room was on a requested high floor and was very clean and quiet with an extremely comfortable bed which allowed for a needed good nights sleep. I would love to stay at this hotel in my future travels to the DC area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jagged45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongaithersburgGM, General Manager at Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hello jagged45—Thank you for the very nice comments you made about your recent stay at the Gaithersburg Hilton. We strive for positive guest comments and satisfaction and I am so glad that we were able to meet you needs in locations, guest rooms and food and beverage. When your future travels bring you back to the Washington DC area, please come back and stay with us. I hope to have the opportunity to meet you on your next visit.
Yale Feldman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was the first time we ever stayed at this hotel and was very pleased. The decor was very modern and the room was vey nice. The location was nice and easy to get to. There were a lot of stores and restaurants in the vicinity. The ease of getting on and off I95 was a plus.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Glenn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongaithersburgGM, General Manager at Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hello Glenn J—Thank you for posting positive comments about the Gaithersburg Hilton on Trip Advisor. I appreciate your comments and for pointing out the positive attributes of our hotel. I made sure that our sales managers saw this as it helps them to address customer needs and desires when making sales calls. It also made everyone else in the hotel feel pretty good.
We hope to see you again soon when your travels bring you back to the area.
Yale Feldman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaithersburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Gaithersburg/Washington, DC North
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
#7 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
2.4 mi away
HYATT house Gaithersburg
HYATT house Gaithersburg
#3 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
#5 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg

Property: Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg
Address: 620 Perry Parkway, Gaithersburg, MD 20877
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Washington DC North/Gaithersburg Hotel is conveniently located just outside Washington D.C. in the heart of the highly active I-270 Corridor. Gaithersburg, MD is an upscale business, entertainment and residential area in suburban Maryland, in close proximity to Bethesda, Rockville and Germantown Maryland as well as Washington, D.C. and Northern Virginia. The Metro station is close by and easily accessible via the hotel complimentary shuttle service.Style, comfort, service and convenience are pillars of the Hotel which is richly appointed throughout with the Signature Hilton Serenity Beds, 37" flat screen high definition TV's, complimentary in-room WiFi, in-rrom single cup coffee makers, luxury amentities and a host of other upgrades to make your stay comfortable. The hotel also has an indoor-outdoor pool and a fully Precor equipped health and fitness facility. For dining and entertainment, the hotel is proud of its Rooks Corner Restaurant serving three meals a day in a comfortable and inviting setting. The plentiful offerings include a full breafast buffet with omelet and waffle station as well as a la carte breakfast and for lunch and dinner are of American fare including succulent steaks, seafood sandwiches and salads. The hotel also presents a Starbucks coffee shop, and a bar and lounge with a complete selection of beverages including single malt scotches and small batch bourbons served along side complimentary hors d'oeuvres on week nights. If you are planning a meeting or conference, the hotel is fully equipped with a ballroom and meeting spaces totaling over 17,000 square feet and complete banquet and catering menus and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Washington Dc North Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Hilton Hotel Gaithersburg
Hilton Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing