We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barely OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
California Central Coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Barely OK”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

The hotel in general was OK - the room was decent - the staff behind the desk (particularly one woman) had an attitude problem. They tried to stick us in a room in the basement (actually, the first floor which is below the lobby) - but we finally got a decent room right off tghe lobby.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palermo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongaithersburgGM, General Manager at Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Dear Palermo22, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced upon check in. It is good to hear that you were ultimately satisfied with your room. We will be sure to address this with our front desk staff immediately. We hope you consider us again while staying in the Gaithersburg area.
Yale Feldman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    189
    172
    111
    72
See reviews for
166
94
63
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The hotel is not new, but has been refurbished. The guest rooms are nice, but the hotel's age shows in areas like the elevators and vending areas. No full length mirror or safe in the room, both of which I would expect from a Hilton, but a mini fridge and microwave. Room service was very prompt and good. Shuttle drivers were friendly and helpful, and the shuttles were prompt. The hotel overlooks a Sam's Club, and is walking distance from a small shopping area with a few restaurants. You'll need to take the shuttle or drive for anything else.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freqtrav3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongaithersburgGM, General Manager at Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Dear freqtrav3, Thank you for your review of you hotel and your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and will be sure to consider this as we make any updates to the hotel. The safes are on the way even as I write this. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Yale Feldman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
373 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Just a nice place to stay - Not fancy, but clean and good service

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saveroom4dessert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongaithersburgGM, General Manager at Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Hello NeilHighlandlakes_NJ-- Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. Your comments were direct and to the point, but very important observations. I appreciate what you had to say and have shared this at a recent staff meeting. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Yale Feldman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for three nights to attend a reunion. I was absolutely delighted when entering the hotel and going up to our room to see the cleanliness of the property. The front desk handled our reservation in record time. The entry shines, the hallways are spotless and our room was perfect. There is free wifi throughout the hotel which surprised us. The toiletries in the room are top notch, the towels plentiful. This hotel is a bargain and would pass anyone's inspection. Also, we had breakfast each day and two dinners with our group of about 100 and all were handled with exceptional care. The wait staff was excellent. Our group was a reunion of navy veterans and everyone in this hotel, staff and other guests, were courteous and respectful and thanked the men for their service. A terrific stay at a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexischristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongaithersburgGM, General Manager at Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Hello alexischristine-- Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay and thank you also for taking the time to post a review of your experiences. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the comments that you made. I have shared them with our staff at a recent staff meeting. We look forward to serving you again when your travels bring you back to the Gaithersburg area.
Best Regards,
Yale Feldman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Being a higher end hotel you would expect the staff to be somewhat welcoming, but as you approach the desk, they keep talking amoungst themselves, then when they finally address you at best its a frown. Otherwise OK hotel for the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongaithersburgGM, General Manager at Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Dear WalterBTV-- Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay and for posting a review. I apologize for the poor experience you described during your check-in. This is certainly not the way we want to greet our arriving guests. I have addressed this with our staff and hope that you will give us another chance the next time you are in the area.
Yale Feldman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

This old-style Hilton that would look quite normal on any Mad Men episode, is still well-run and well-maintained. 12 floors of rooms with most of the noise equipment kept close to the elevators shafts = so most rooms should be very quiet. My room was at the farthest end of the corridor. Big, empty balcony - a good place to look outside at the Sam's club with which this Hilton shares the backyard. The room was spacious, old furniture, old linen. Bathroom fared MUCH better - nice new towels, Peter Thomas Roth shampoos, conditioners etc.
The safe was very roomy, extra blanket, pillow - the usual stuff for the executive floor rooms. Strangely enough, the phone preset buttons did not work, not one of them - so you would have to get to the operator first.
Breakfast at the ground floor restaurant was quite typical of all Hilton properties = eggs made to order, choice of juices, breads, pastries and fruit. Well-run by very polite team of servers.
There is an all day/all night room service and the bar at the restaurant was packed around midnight.
In a nutshell, with update linens this would be a very, very good hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heyValera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongaithersburgGM, General Manager at Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Dear heyvalera—Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback on the furniture and the linen. I will keep these suggestions for our next upgrade to the hotel. I do apologize that the preset buttons on the phone did not work properly and have had this problem corrected. We will also check all of the other rooms in the hotel as we go through our normal inspection and maintenance routines. Thank you for your stay and for all of your comments. We hope to have you back soon.
Yale Feldman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pace, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Overall the hotel was decent. You could tell the hotel is quite old but appeared that it had been updated at some point in the last few years. Of the hotels I've stayed in recently the bed was better than most although still not great but decent for a hotel mattress. My two biggest complaints about the room was that the bathroom was extremely small. It was quite hard to fit in and shut the door easily. Also the shower/tub did have some mold spots but otherwise was clean. The room was a king with a sleeper sofa. It did have a nice LCD TV in the room. No mini-fridge though which was a let down. I though those were pretty standard in rooms these days.

Location is good if you're doing stuff in Gaithersburg but it is pretty far out of the city. About 45 minutes from Dulles and about an hour and a half drive in to the city during busy times. It's about 5-10 minutes from a metro station though but that's still about an hour ride to the heart of DC.

The restaurant/bar food was good and the staff in the bar area were very friendly.

I didn't deal with the front desk staff other than checking in/out but didn't have a problem with either.

The first night we were there I guess a power transformer blew and the power went out at the hotel. They did have a generator so at least the elevator and wake up call worked so I give them credit for that but the room did get mighty cold real quick and we were without power for several hours so I had to get dressed by cell phone light. This wasn't the hotels fault but I would suggest maybe some emergency night light or something at least in the bathroom if this is something that happens frequently.

Overall decent. Much better than the Holiday Inn in Gaithersburg I have stayed in past times.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bishoparc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongaithersburgGM, General Manager at Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Dear Bishoparc-thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to post a review of your experiences. You were very extensive in the aspects of the hotel you described and I appreciate the insights you provided me. We always strive to improve and specific guest comments are the best source of input that we can have. II am sorry that you had to be impacted by the power outage that occurred. This was definitely not a normal occurrence and was out of the control of the hotel electrical systems. I am glad that the back up generator proved helpful to your needs. We look forward to seeing you again should you need hotel accommodations in the Gaithersburg, Md area.
Yale Feldman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaithersburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Gaithersburg/Washington, DC North
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
#7 of 15 in Gaithersburg
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
HYATT house Gaithersburg
HYATT house Gaithersburg
#3 of 15 in Gaithersburg
480 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
#5 of 15 in Gaithersburg
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg

Property: Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg
Address: 620 Perry Pkwy, Gaithersburg, MD 20877-2530
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Washington DC North/Gaithersburg Hotel is conveniently located just outside Washington D.C. in the heart of the highly active I-270 Corridor. Gaithersburg, MD is an upscale business, entertainment and residential area in suburban Maryland, in close proximity to Bethesda, Rockville and Germantown Maryland as well as Washington, D.C. and Northern Virginia. The Metro station is close by and easily accessible via the hotel complimentary shuttle service.Style, comfort, service and convenience are pillars of the Hotel which is richly appointed throughout with the Signature Hilton Serenity Beds, 37" flat screen high definition TV's, complimentary in-room WiFi, in-rrom single cup coffee makers, luxury amentities and a host of other upgrades to make your stay comfortable. The hotel also has an indoor-outdoor pool and a fully Precor equipped health and fitness facility. For dining and entertainment, the hotel is proud of its Rooks Corner Restaurant serving three meals a day in a comfortable and inviting setting. The plentiful offerings include a full breafast buffet with omelet and waffle station as well as a la carte breakfast and for lunch and dinner are of American fare including succulent steaks, seafood sandwiches and salads. The hotel also presents a Starbucks coffee shop, and a bar and lounge with a complete selection of beverages including single malt scotches and small batch bourbons served along side complimentary hors d'oeuvres on week nights. If you are planning a meeting or conference, the hotel is fully equipped with a ballroom and meeting spaces totaling over 17,000 square feet and complete banquet and catering menus and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Washington Dc North Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Hilton Hotel Gaithersburg
Hilton Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing