We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Dismal Smelly Damp and Worn Rooms...AVOID” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
228 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Dismal Smelly Damp and Worn Rooms...AVOID”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Arriving at the hotel, the Front Desk was very friendly and cheery and welcoming. I went across the street to my room which was like entering a damp cave. First, the sofa had been cleaned and was damp and moist and soaked me after sitting down a few minutes. The room had the smell of old musty newspapers. The recliner was worn and resembled a Salvation Army thrift store item or something a cat got ahold of. The room was spacious and had a full kitchen and nice bed and television. However, the sheets were never changed during my four day stay. Amenities were sparse, however, the towels were new and thick for a hotel of the caliber. Water had a musty funky smell and taste and no waters were in the huge refrigerator of this apartment like room. The continental breakfast was typical and nothing special. The hotel is located near many business and other than the friendly staff, I would not recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Look at the room before you check in to see what you are getting
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pensando42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGaithersburg, General Manager at Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Pensando42,

Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn by Marriott at Gaithersburg/Washingtonian Center. My sincerest apologies for any issue you may have had while at our hotel. Your comments will be shared with our team. We look at feedback as a way to improve upon all aspects of the guest experience. We hope that you will consider our hotel in the future.

Yours Truly,
Karen Guinan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    49
    15
    12
    3
See reviews for
43
18
5
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Holmdel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wife had to attend conference nearby and me and the kids tagged along. The hotel staff, specially the manager are very helpful and attentive. We were made feel at home right away. Hotel includes breakfast and dinner buffet - a nice surprise. Room includes a full kitchen with everything you need to get going - from a full size fridge with ice maker to dishwasher detergent and everything in between. We had the smallest room (one bedroom with sofa bed in living room) and it worked fine for us during our short day stay. The area is great and very convenient to Washingtonian Center next door.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGaithersburg, General Manager at Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Onfus,

I am thrilled that you had such a great stay while at the Residence Inn Gaithersburg. It is because of guests, such as yourself, that we love our business of hospitality. You make it so easy and give us incentive to be better each and every day.

We sincerely hope that you will come back and see us in the near future and thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay.

All my best,
Karen Guinan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We chose to stay at this hotel because of the location and it's pet friendliness. We have previously stayed at other Residence Inn properties, so we knew what to expect. The staff was friendly and there were no surprises. The inclusive breakfast was served in a very pleasant room and there was plenty of food to go around, even though the hotel was quite full. The only negative was that the furnishings in our suite seemed a bit worn. However, the room was clean & quiet so I can't really complain. There are several shops & restaurants, a gym & a movie theater within walking distance. Under the same circumstances, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank khittinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed three nights at this hotel in a two-bedroom unit. It has a typical Residence Inn setup and is very clean. The employees are first rate, beginning with Rediet(sp?) who checked us in. The hotel is in walking distance to Washingtonian Center. There is an incline involved in the walk so take this into consideration if anyone in your party has difficulties. But, it is a wonderful walk along a nice lake .... Eating places, Starbucks, Barnes and Noble, Kohls, Target, many more stores, and a more theater. Breakfast was a bit crowded, but the food was replenished regularly and there was a good selection.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mbkteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley heights, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
289 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I rarely write a review while still staying in a hotel. I usually waited until I check out and then I write it. However, based on what I have experienced and observed this time, I decide to write a review while staying here.
I am a fan of the Marriott brand. When traveling I tried to stay in Marriott hotels as much as possible. Among all the brands that Marriott owns, Residence Inn is my favorite. When I checked into this hotel, the managers greeted me at the front desk immediately. The receptionist was very warm, professional and helpful. They looked like they enjoy being here. The general manager's office is right across the front desk and during my stay here, I rarely saw it closed. You can see the GM sitting inside and I felt like if I have some kind of concern, he is immediately approachable. During breakfast and dinner hour, the GM would approach the guests while they are enjoying the food. It's usually some small talk and ask you if everything is okay. Seeing that you have finished your food, he would even remove the plates for you, so that you can go back to have another serving and do not need to worry about anything else. My experience here is truly enjoyable. If I ever will need to stay in this area in the future, this place would be my first choice.
I do have one minor comment about this hotel. I initially had a negative view about it and later on realized that it really wasn't anyone's intention. My room was on the first floor across from the building with the front desk and dining area. When I walked to my room, I found the hallway very dark and have a spooky feel to it. However, that feeling was gone when the night falls. I then realized that I came here in a hot summer afternoon and when I walked into the hallway on the first floor, my eyes have not adjusted to the darker environment. In the evening then hallway is well-lit. I think mangement might want to know this to see this minor issue can be addressed to make this hotel perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BHUANG69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

After an inclement-weather-driven airline odyssey into IAD (with a significant diversion) followed by the usual traffic mess that is VA/MD/DC, we arrived at this property quite weary. In the short time it took for me to check in, Darryl and his staff had me in such a good mood that when I rejoined my husband he asked me what had happened in there :-D.

This was not a fluke. Every interaction with an employee of this property was the same: smiling, happy, helpful. I asked one person where the ice machines were located and she insisted upon getting the ice for me.

I have traveled extensively in business and haven't experienced this kind of enthusiastic hospitality from even the 5-star/ $400+ a night properties.

Room Tip: Third floor away from elevator is the best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abledog808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGaithersburg, General Manager at Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We truly feel your pain after an arduous travel day (we have all been there).
The main thing we want you to know when you arrive at the Residence Inn Gaithersburg is you can put all that behind you.
No we are not a beach front hotel serving cocktails in the sand.
We are a hotel and staff that prides itself on making the rest of your journey better.
Friendly, caring staff. Good food. Comfortable suites and surroundings are just the start.
Put it all together and you have the "Experience" you mentioned.
Thanks for journeying to our property.
Glad to know the tough travel day melted away and you were able to enjoy your trip.
Your words are so kind and most of all heartfelt - kudo's to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Great service. We were greeted immediately and with a warm smile. Front desk attendant accompanied me to ensure I knew where my building was and when there was no luggage cart, she went to the other buildings to find one for me.
The unit was clean and well kept, as its to be expected from Marriott. Great location. Easy to get to. Full breakfast.

Room Tip: Try to get it by the elevator and the building entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toomuchfunnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGaithersburg, General Manager at Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
I would say "WOW" but in all honesty I expect my staff to go above and beyond for all our guests, finding and tracking down what you need.
We truly appreciate you letting us know yours (and my expectations) were met and exceeded.
We pride ourselves on providing clean, comfortable suites such as yours.
Our team will continue to work hard to make this your "Home Away From Home" whenever you stay with us again.
Thanks for your kind words and compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaithersburg
0.1 mi away
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
#8 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
HYATT house Gaithersburg
HYATT house Gaithersburg
#3 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Gaithersburg/Washington, DC North
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Property: Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Address: 9721 Washingtonian Blvd, Gaithersburg, MD 20878-5359
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An all suite property with full kitchens.Convenient to restaurants and shops in the Washingtonian Center (Rio).Close to many Washington DC, I-270 and Shady Grove Metro station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing