We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“What??? No Breakfast Area?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
266 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“What??? No Breakfast Area?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

One would think that every TownePlace Suites is going to have the same amenities.. like breakfast. Their idea of breakfast is to set out some cereal, fruit, juice, coffee.. the bare basics and then.. YO CARRY IT BACK TO YOUR ROOM! The tray barely held the weight of a juice and coffee and now, you balance all this up the elevator, to your room where you need your card to enter... while balancing. Good luck.

We stayed in a Towneplace in OH the night before this one Tables, chairs, waffles, egg, sausage plus the usual cold breakfast...perfect, expected. Not here.

The room was fine, close to the tracks so trains can be heard but not a big deal. All in all.. fine until.. breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomasrydz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    28
    12
    8
    6
See reviews for
31
5
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

If you are visiting NIST, this is a great place to stay. The rooms all have kitchens, and there is continental breakfast in the lobby. I have stayed here many times over the last few years, and I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tipsyweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I'm a regular visitor to NIST, and I've stayed in most of the hotels close by. This one provides the best value and comfort. The rooms are clean and comfortable, with kitchens. Staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is sort of crappy (coffee, donuts and cold cereal) but Einstein Bros Bagels are just down the road.

Very close to NIST, with good access to the interstate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed here a couple of nights for business. The hotel is in need of an overhaul. The rooms and furnishings are showing wear, and the smoking ban is not being observed anywhere. This was not what i was expecting given the affluence of the general area. The staff is very friendly but the lack of keeping up with the wear, tear, and smells drags down the grade.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gaithersburg hotels

Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our company had a number of employees travelling on work to Bethesda. We were looking for extended stay suites with kitchenettes and the TownePlace Gaithersburg offered the best deal.

Pros:
1. Perfectly efficient, friendly and attentive staff at the front desk and in housekeeping. I faced no billing problems despite frequently switching credit cards.

2. Free wifi in the rooms, and a printer in the lobby.

3. Well maintained facilities. All the laundry machines and driers were in working order throughout the stay, unlike some of their competitors’ properties. Washing and drying cost $1.50 each. I did have a problem with the heater in my room which was quickly fixed.

4. The property is close to Lakeforest mall. Walkable on a good day.

Cons:

1. There is only a single bathroom for a two bedroom suite. Obviously a hygiene issue when more than one person is using it.

2. The lack of a hot breakfast was bothersome. The only hot item at breakfast is…hot water, that you mix with your oatmeal. There is a fixed offering of muffins, danish pastries, cereals, cold milk, juice and fruits, besides 24-hour coffee.

3. The two bedrooms are of unequal sizes. The smaller one is too tiny to accommodate a work table and chair, and therefore the occupant of that room needs to use the table in the living area.

To be fair, many of the above are brand standards and the individual property has little control over them.

A taxi from Dulles costs $70. Toiletries are by Paul Mitchell. A copy of USA Today can be picked up from the lobby. Overall. I had a nice stay with good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tenvsrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I was very disappointed with this hotel, and it was not at all up to the quality level of the typical Marriott property. It looks great from the outside but is very cheap on the inside (e.g., plastic doors and cabinets, only 2 spoons in the kitchen). For the complimentary breakfast, they served instant oatmeal, yogurt, pre-packaged pastries, cereal/milk, juice, coffee, and fruit. Again, not nearly as good as is available from other Marriott properties.
Additionally, it was not obvious from the website (unless you check the fact sheet) that a fee was required for a pet - $100 which is more than the cost of a room. Had I known the fee was so high, I would have stayed at the Hilton down the room; their pet fee is only $50 and is noted very obviously on their website.
I would not recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CWRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We chose to stay here because it offered a two bedroom suite at a very reasonable price when we went to Maryland for a family engagement party. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful - thanks Sunny!!! We requested an early check in after a 7 hour drive to our destination and they were more than happy to accommodate our request. We found our room to be clean and beautiful. As soon as we got in our room there was a knock on our door to see if everything was alright and asked if we needed anything. After our party, we came back to the hotel and my family all gathered around the outdoor fireplace and enjoyed being together - it made for a wonderful memory. The outdoor patio closed at 11:00 pm and we asked the staff if it was alright if we hanged out a little longer. They were so friendly and said that since we were quite we were more than welcome to stay and they were happy to see us enjoying the space. Upon check out the staff were just as friendly and helpful as they had been the entire stay. I totally recommend this hotel for all!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VacWolderKidsRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaithersburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Gaithersburg/Washington, DC North
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
#7 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg
2.1 mi away
HYATT house Gaithersburg
HYATT house Gaithersburg
#3 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 373 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
#4 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg

Property: TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg
Address: 212 Perry Pkwy, Gaithersburg, MD 20877-2100
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended-stay hotel in Gaithersburg, an all-suites hotel designed for the busy traveler, features spacious layouts with luxurious bedding and full kitchens that include a refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher and stove top. Start your morning with a complimentary copy of USA Today from the lobby and a workout in our 24-hour fitness center. Keep hunger at bay with our 24-hour convenience market. And stay connected with free wireless Internet. Other amenities at our Gaithersburg, MD hotel include BBQ, daily housekeeping and complimentary local phone calls. When traveling to the DC area, TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg offers comfort, convenience and a friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Towneplace Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing