We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Place to stay on way outta town of Washington, DC.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay on way outta town of Washington, DC.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Took in fireworks in DC and needed a place to stay as we headed back home. 30 minutes outside of DC was the Gaithersburg Marriott. We arrived at midnight and was greeted by Carter at the front desk. He professionally and quickly got us our clean and comfortable 2 double bed room. I earlier considered the close by Courtyard with the Queen beds but it seemed a bit seedy area and though close by, this Marriott was a bit more secure. No issues whatsoever. Back to Marriott beds, a bit soft for us, but not a deal killer. Room spacious and QUIET. Out of there by 8:00am the next morning so did not use anything else in the hotel but seemed clean and updated.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jserna20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario L, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for reviewing the hotel on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you found our hotel spacious, quiet and clean. Thank you for staying at the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center Hotel. Thank you again for your business and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    121
    40
    9
    5
See reviews for
80
43
16
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My mom is in a nearby nursing home but can visit with me while I stay at this hotel. She likes to eat at the full service restaurant and sit out on the patio by the lake. The staff here is wonderful! They made us feel welcome and went out of their way to be helpful. When was the last time that even the security guard tried to make your stay a little nicer?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shari_Lu_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario L, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center on TripAdvisor. I agree with you regarding our “wonderful” staff and the joy of sitting out on the patio by the lake and eating at the restaurant. We'll look forward to welcoming you and your Mom back to our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We had been traveling from the Outer Banks and needed to stop for the night. We got a room on the spot and since we did not want to drive anymore were pleasantly surprised when we saw many choices for eating walking distance from the hotel. It has a lovely green space for walking around around a pond. We had great nights sleep as well and the staff were all friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Awolfe584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario L, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center Hotel and reviewing us on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you had a “great night sleep” and the “staff were all friendly and welcoming” to you and your family. Thank you again for choosing our hotel for a last minute stop and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

This is a nice 3 star hotel. It's nice but not spectacular. The hotel seems a little old, but fine for a few night's stay. The best feature is it's close proximity to the Washingtonian Center, where there are numerous restaurants, boutique shops, movie theatre, and lake. Much of the center is relatively new.

Yes, I would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidRedds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara M, General Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
I'm sorry to learn that your impression of the hotel was less than satisfactory on your recent visit. I certainly understand your comments and appreciate the feedback. Should you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me directly at the hotel at 301-590-0044.

Kind Regards,

Sara Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York
Level Contributor
504 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We attended a wedding last weekend and the choice was excellent. Check in was easy and accommodating. We had a lovely room with a view overlooking the lake. It was such a pleasure after a six hour drive to walk right outside and have everything at our fingertips from dining to shopping. Having restaurants, shops and a movie theater situated around a beautiful lake was amazing. There was even a live band by the lake at night
I cannot say enough about the staff. Ned was exceptional and took care of any need we had.He really is an ambassador for the hospitality business. I also want to give a shout out to Wade,Michael and Lindsey who also addressed our needs throughout the weekend.
We will definitely return if we are in the area.

Room Tip: Request one overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shapgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario L, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center while you attended a wedding. Looks like the staff at our hotel along with our location, contributed to making your stay excellent. We look forward to seeing you again in the future and thank you for providing your review on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Staff were exceptionally friendly during check in and were very helpful at suggesting surrounding activities and options for eating etc. I was only staying here one night on business, so was looking for some decent sleep and this was a fantastic bed - I could barely get out of it in the morning I was so comfortable.

The soda / pop machine on my floor was broken, which was annoying, though they have a little shop by reception so I was still able to get something. Also, the water did not drain well at this hotel in my room; I really hate that though I know many hotels have a lot of trouble with that. I usually try to mention it but didn't have time today.

Also, as with most Mariott's this hotel charges for phone and internet. Ridiculous in 2014; so cheap to provide and such a necessity. Oh well, just used the hotspot in my phone as everyone should when a hotel charges for internet. A smarter way is to offer basic internet for free, and charge for high speed. That seems much more reasonable to me.

Would happily recommend this hotel it is in a nice location and has a lake beside it, with lots of shops etc nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario L, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you for reviewing the hotel on Tripadvisor. I do apologize that the beverage machine was not working on your floor. I also wanted to note that in the restaurant and lobby area, we offer complimentary high speed internet. Thank you for choosing the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center Hotel and please stay with us again. Please contact me with any questions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile


We really enjoyed our one night stay. Good service, nice room and great location for enjoying the Rio Washingtonian Center. Great morning breakfast buffet! The only drawback for us was that there was no pool.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JDH_AustinTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario L, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center Hotel and reviewing us on Tripadvisor. Our breakfast buffet has a lot of selections and we are glad that you enjoyed it. Also, approximately two years ago the hotel was renovated and the indoor pool was removed so our guests could host events in our new Lakeside Ballroom. Please contact me with any questions. Thank you again for your business and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaithersburg
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Gaithersburg/Washington, DC North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
#8 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 198 reviews
1.1 mi away
HYATT house Gaithersburg
HYATT house Gaithersburg
#3 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

Property: Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
Address: 9751 Washingtonian Blvd, Gaithersburg, MD 20878-5359
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gaithersburg
#5 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending functionality and elegance, the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center sets the stage for a truly successful visit. Located just outside of Washington, DC. In Montgomery County, Maryland, our picturesque lakeside hotel is the ideal home base for business travelers and families alike. Upon arrival, you'll instantly be taken with our well-appointed accommodations, superior amenities, and friendly service. Our spacious hotel rooms and suites offer guests perks like stunning lake views, luxurious bedding, and flat-screen TVs; upgrade for a Concierge Level room for added benefits like a complimentary Continental breakfast. We invite you to dine with us al fresco at The Bench, or enjoy craft cocktails and small bites with friends at our Lobby Lounge. With over 9,000 square feet of flexible event space, we're also an ideal location for a business convention or wedding in Gaithersburg. Whatever brings you here, we look forward to your visit at the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Marriott Gaithersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing