We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
Nearby Hotels
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $171/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$119
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$85
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg(Gaithersburg)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (374)
Filter reviews
374 results
Traveler rating
152
153
47
11
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
153
47
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe concierge loungemovie theaterwashingtonian centerpaddle boatssmall lakewalking pathlake viewrestaurants and shopsartificial lakeman made lakebusiness tripcab ridenice hotelhotel offerswithin walking distancerooms are cleanwi fi
Filter
Updating list...
265 - 270 of 374 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We live 5 minutes away from Rio. My husband received free hotel stay from Marriott, but we didn't have a chance to go anywhere far, so we decided to take a mini vacation right in our back yard at Rio. I really enjoyed the stay, even though I live and work right next to Rio, I still enjoyed walking around the lake, attend free summer concerts and going to the restaurants for some good food and drinks.

The Hotel:
Fitness Center-
We used the fitness center which was very nice and clean, only one other person was there. There is a small TV in front of each treadmill and elliptical. They also have headphones that you can use.
Room-
The room was very nice and clean, we didn't have any problems at all. It's a standard Marriott room.
Breakfast-
We had the breakfast buffet, it was pretty good. Again, standard Marriott breakfast items.

Overall we really enjoyed the mini vacation, and will do it again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wwjwenjing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for posting about your stay with us. It's great to hear that we were able to provide you with the r&r you were looking for on your mini-vacation. Hopefully, we'll see you soon on your next getaway!

Regards,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I thought this was better than average, given that it is a large, chain hotel. I have also stayed at the Courtyard Marriott in the same location and I prefer the Washingtonian Marriott. The decor is more modern and the lobby area much more inviting. It's just as close to the action but quieter.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louise_craigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and our lakefront location in Gaiterhsburg. The Rio Entertainment Center has a great selection of shopping, dining, and entertainment and it's all within walking distance of our hotel. Thanks again!

Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The hotel is in a good location if traveling on business to companies nearby, or if visiting Rockville/Gaithersburg for leisure. It is at the edge of a bustling area with many different restaurant choices, move theater, health club, and shopping so it offers many options after meetings or sightseeing. All of this borders a lake which makes for peaceful dining (unless you don't like geese). Hotel also has undergone renovation with a nice restaurant and outdoor dining or relaxing; has quick but decent room service as well.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsPitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center on TripAdvisor. Our central location in Gaithersburg at the Rio Entertainment Center sure makes it easy to enjoy a weekend away in Suburban Maryland. I'm glad you were able to take advantage of all that the area has to offer and hope that you'll visit us again soon!

Best regards,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

So stayed 2 nights at this Marriott, this week, very nice, great location, updated hotel, great little bar and friendly staff. Arrived late (close to midnight) and restaurant/bar was still open so need a byte to eat, they had a good selection of beers on tap, had a good salad. Bar area was nice, friendly and good bar staff. The rooms were updated and nice and large, clean and plenty of light. The location was great, near all the be at during my stay. Next to a large shopping complex with movie theater, restaurants and department stores but w/o be in the shopping mad house. I would go back to this location, nicely done (a little hard to find as it sits way back off main road).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrSecure98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdivsor about your stay at the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center. I'm glad you found The Bench restaurant and lounge to your liking. I agree we've got a great staff and a wide variety of local/regional beverage and food items available. I'll look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Gaithersburg!

Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for three nights. Got a great rate on Expedia for $99/night and they upgraded our room upon check in for free to a lake view room (usually $20 more). Service was very friendly.

PROS: Free newspapers, cookies and water in the lobby daily. Location cannot be beaten! It is right off of the lake and right on the walking path that goes all the way around the lake. It is less than a minute's walk from lots of restaurants, shops, a major movie theater and paddle boats right across the lake. The lake view was beautiful, day or night.

Room is spacious. Coffee maker, mini fridge, hairdryer, iron and ironing board in the room. Bath and Body Works toiletries. Good water pressure.

CONS: There are no safes in the rooms. The towels are thin and feel cheap. The tub is slippery when wet - they need non skid decals. Local cabs have taken to double parking in the parking lot hoping for fares which block the cars wanting to leave or enter parking spaces.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are great!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milril44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for posting your feedback about the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center on TripAdvisor. I wanted to make sure to inform you that complimentary safety deposit boxes are available for use at our reception desk in the lobby. We're looking at placing safes in the guestrooms at a future date. Additionally, we are in the process of introducing new towels and terry products into the guest rooms and are planning to have all guest rooms feature our new, plush, terry products by the end of 2014.

Thanks again,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews