We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
124 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Loved the surroundings and this hotel. I enjoyed the restaurant within the hotel as well as the staff. This hotel has the best gym ever! Make sure to bring your camera, outside offers a wonderful scenery for photography. I will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTruthHasBeenTold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for posting your thoughts about the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian on TripAdvisor. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'll look forward to meeting you on your next trip to Gaithersburg!

-Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    123
    40
    10
    5
See reviews for
81
45
17
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I spent one night here in March. I was actually mostly impressed by the surroundings. The hotel is located right next to a small lake. There are many resteraunts, shops, and a movie theatre right next to the lake. You can have a nice walk along the lake after the dinner if the weather is nice.

The hotel was under rennovation at the time of my stay, so there was not much a lobby. The guest room was pretty nice (just as you would expect from a full service Marrtiott).The staffs were extremely friendly!

There were four Marriott properties within walking distance of each other. So you can do some price checking to find out the right one for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center on TripAdvisor. I agree that our surrounding area is one of the best assets of the hotel. From the location on the lake to the convenient walk to shopping and dining, it makes a business trip that much more enjoyable to have everything so close. Our renovation is finishing up and we've reopened our new lobby and new restaurant, The Bench! You'll have to check it out on your next visit to Gaithersburg.

Thanks again,
-Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great location, with several good restaurants nearby (theirs is under construction and was a little pricey last years) and shopping including all the necessities of life: Target, Kohls, and a Barnes and Noble bookstore!
The renovations meant traipsing (quickly) via the outside entrance to the gym, and one of the meeting rooms had been converted to an impromptu bar and food service. The staff was really friendly and accommodating as a result. The front desk was also helpful but not too knowledgeable about the local bus line (so they have cars!) The construction noise was never evident. And there are fresh cookies or brownies every night at the desk. (Sometimes there is ice water with sliced lemons.)
There is a bus stop at the end of the sidewalk, the 64 bus goes directly to the nearest Metro station, and from there everything is handy. The hotel has a shuttle to Metro, but the bus has longer hours of operation and is $1.80 one way. You can't get a cab for that!
The rooms could still use new mattresses, and the air conditioning doesn't always get as cool as I like. This trip I just cracked open the window (no screens). Last year I had the end room on the hall and it "adjoined" another: no privacy in terms of sound. The halls are very straight and you can hear people from the minute they get off the elevator.
ALSO they host a lot of middle-school and younger sports and school events so some weeks there are a LOT of kids up and down the halls. Ask about this before you book.
I'm looking forward to next year.

Room Tip: They have a concierge floor if you follow Marriott. I choose "away from the lake" to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingEars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center on TripAdvisor. I'm pleased to hear how well your stay went and that our staff was able to accommodate your requests. Our renovation is in the final stages and we are excited to welcome you back into our newly transformed lobby, restaurant, and Lakeside Ballroom. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel if I can be of any further assistance.

Regards,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for a business meeting. First off the location is great, but overall It was a disappointing experience. The furnishings were looking warn and the room had a musty smell even after it was cleaned. The bed was lumpy and the heating unit didnt seem efficient. The food in the restaurant was expensive but plain. Trying to get room service breakfast in the morning was troublesome for many in my group. I had signed up for the earlest delivery time and managed to get the overpriced meal, however many got theirs' late or not at all. It needs to noted that the lobby and restaurant are being renovated so some of the isues may be attributed to that reason. That being said, the front desk staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdivsor regarding your recent stay at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center. I'm sorry to hear that your experience was less than expected. I'd welcome to speak to you personally about your specific situation. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel 301-590-0044. Our multi-million dollar transformation is scheduled to be completed in Early April and I look forward to welcoming you back to our newly renovated lobby, restaurant and Lakeside ballroom.

Regards,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
101 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has become an annually stop due to an meeting I attend. This time there's was construction. Other than the entrance change and lack of an official restaurant (Salons A and B are open for business !)it is business as usual. Perhaps the staff was even more friendly. There was a comraderie that made this visit even more fun.
The food was great. Housekeeping excellent. Comfy beds and a beautiful lake view. The fitness center has plenty of ellipticals, treadmills and weights. I enjoy being able to shop nearby for necessities : Target, wine, Lindt chocolate or Barnes and Noble. Plenty of restaurants too. The metro is a $14 cab ride away but a friend was able to take the bus from the metro to the hotel for under $2. Next time!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank polarspeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your review and comments on TripAdvisor for your recent stay at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center. Our multi-million dollar transformation will be complete in early April and I look forward to welcoming you back to our newly renovated hotel!

Regards,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Courteous staff, easy parking, great location. Close to shops, theatre, etc. nice fitness room. No highway noise in room facing lake. Overall a great experience for a relatively low price. Beds were a little lumpy.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your taking the time to give your feedback. I'm glad that you found the hotel's staff and location to have exceededd your expectations. I'll look forward to welcoming you personally on your next visit to Gaithersburg.

Regards,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was a High School Trip to the Presidential Inauguration. I wasn't expecting much since it was a high school trip. The hotel was great!! We had a group of over a 100 and everyone had a nice room. It was clean, comfortable and a great location. It was walking distance to lots of restaurants and shops. The hotel was about and hour outside of DC but an easy drive. I don't know the cost of the hotel so I cant compare that, I would imagine it wasn't cheap due to the inauguration.

Room Tip: ask for a view towards the boardwalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center on TripAdvisor. It's always great to hear how our hotel exceeds our guest's expectations. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us over the Inauguration and we look forward to seeing you back in Gaithersburg on future occasions.

Regards,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaithersburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Gaithersburg/Washington, DC North
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
#8 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
1.1 mi away
HYATT house Gaithersburg
HYATT house Gaithersburg
#3 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
#7 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

Property: Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
Address: 9751 Washingtonian Blvd, Gaithersburg, MD 20878-5359
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gaithersburg
#5 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending functionality and elegance, the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center sets the stage for a truly successful visit. Located just outside of Washington, DC. In Montgomery County, Maryland, our picturesque lakeside hotel is the ideal home base for business travelers and families alike. Upon arrival, you'll instantly be taken with our well-appointed accommodations, superior amenities, and friendly service. Our spacious hotel rooms and suites offer guests perks like stunning lake views, luxurious bedding, and flat-screen TVs; upgrade for a Concierge Level room for added benefits like a complimentary Continental breakfast. We invite you to dine with us al fresco at The Bench, or enjoy craft cocktails and small bites with friends at our Lobby Lounge. With over 9,000 square feet of flexible event space, we're also an ideal location for a business convention or wedding in Gaithersburg. Whatever brings you here, we look forward to your visit at the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Marriott Gaithersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing