We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always a pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“always a pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We have visited this hotel countless times over the years. Unlike most of it's visitors we do not come for business, but to visit family in the area. We always enjoy the complex the hotel is located in. There is a movie theater, cupcake shop, Starbucks, and a yogurt shop. There are also many casual dining restaurants. In addition there is a Target and many other smaller retailers. On the weekend the place is family friendly, well lit and lively. There is a manmade lake with swan peddle boats that can be rented during the warmer months.The hotel has free parking and Washington D.C. is within easy reach, about half an hour by car. Rooms are modern and all look alike. The double rooms have 2 beds, a night table, an armchair and a desk and chair. The king rooms have an extra footstool and small table. Rates on the weekend are reasonable. Some packages include the breakfast buffet. The buffet includes fresh cut fruit and many choices. They have more of a selection on the weekend including grits and biscuits. Julie the server/hostess always welcomes us back with a smile. Janet, the chef at the omelet station, is always friendly and makes yummy waffles and a variety of omelets. They both make us feel at home and welcomed. The pool is open all weekend but has limited hours on the weekdays. It is an indoor pool located on the second floor. It has a wall of windows so you do not feel closed in. There is a concierge floor, but we have never been there. When there is an issue the front desk staff usually handle it quickly and will call to follow up that things have been taken care of. We have tried many hotels in the area over the years and keep coming back to this one.

Room Tip: Weekend rates (which start on a Thursday night) are much lower than weekday rates. Packages that in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alan831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomG_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    121
    40
    9
    5
See reviews for
80
43
16
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stony Brook, New York
Level Contributor
167 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

This is an excellent hotel if traveling for business in the area. The staff in the hotel are friendly and welcoming. Parking is free and right in front of the hotel. The rooms are clean, comfortable, reasonable in size and have the usual furnishings that one expects for this type of hotel. Although the hotel seems a bit out of the way and doesn't have easy access to public transportation, it is close to I-270 and the recently built 'inter county connector'. (Note, however, if you're driving a rental car, that the latter route is a toll road without toll booths so you need an EZ Pass.) I also liked the fact that the hotel is an easy and pleasant walk (around a lake) to the dining and shopping possibilities of the Washingtonian Center. This was my second stay at this hotel and I would definitely return if I have business again in the area!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LotsaTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomG_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your returning to our hotel. We appreciate your business. Please let me know if I can provide anything to make your next stay more comfortable.

Please note that you can use the ICC toll road without an EZ Pass. However it will charge the toll plus $3.00 to the registered owner of the vehicle. They photograph the license plate of the vehicle when you pass the toll area.

Best Regards,

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Visiting friends in suburban DC, this Marriott was convenient and perfectly nice. We even ended up talking while walking around the man made lake after a decent Sunday brunch.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dclaymiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

There is a cozy, comfortable atmosphere at this hotel despite its size. It is set on a lake with a variety of shopping and restaurants and a Loews theater. The rooms are clean and modern. The staff is cheerful and very helpful.
If you are trying to access DC from here,you will have to take a cab from the Shady Grove metro station (about $12). The hotel has the typical 12.95 per day internet charge. The Business Center costs you as well for internet time (flight check-in and boarding passes are free). You can access wi-fi for free in the lobby.
The lobby is small as is the gift shop, which is a small room next to check-in with some food and amenties. However, you can get anything you need by taking a short walk to Target.
Overall it's a lovely view and a pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polarspeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomG_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us. We are very happy that you were comfortable while you were here. I am glad you found our lake front setting convenient and our staff engaging. I do want to let you know that all of the services in the business center are complimentary. That includes internet browsing, printing, faxing, office software, and boarding passes. We have also recently expanded complimentary high speed wireless internet access to our restaurant and outdoor waterside dining.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback. Thank you very much for your business and we look forward to hosting you again. Please contact me if I can do anything to make your next stay more comfortable.

Best Regards,

Tom Gilliland
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen arm md 21057
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

The manager, Mario Lara, is extremely friendly and always makes my husband and me feel welcome at this hotel. His friendliness and energy transfer into his friendly and welcoming staff's energy.

He is the BEST manager we have ever seen!

Especially welcoming are Fatinia, Janeth, Michael, and Ekli.

The hotel is a perfect spot for traveling to DC and is very clean.

Room Tip: The associates will give you the best available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomG_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our team and the cleanliness of the hotel. We sincerely appreciate your comments and will recognize each of the individuals you listed in our monthly associate rally.

We look forward to hosting you again very soon.

Please contact us if we can do anything to make your stay more comfortable.

Tom Gilliland
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yardley pa
Level Contributor
135 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Was here for a one night stay while visiting friends. This is a suburban, business oriented Marriott that does what it does very well, with very nice amenities.

It is located on a man-made lake at the end of very nice, new, outdoor shopping area with walking paths and access to many restaurants, stores and a movie theatre. The other end is anchored by a Target store (out of sight, but very convenient). Half the rooms are lake-view. Even a playground at the other end of the lake. Parking is free.

Rooms are very modern (my only complaint is Marriott's love of rain showers which are not my taste). Lovely small indoor pool and hot-tub overlooking the lake. Front desk service very pleasant.

Food services are fair, but you're a 1-5 minute walk from a dozen choices.

Room Tip: There are lake views and there are very nice lake views. Ask for a higher floor and a room towards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank art89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomG_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you for the great review. We appreciate your business and are happy you had a wonderful experience at our hotel. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

The hotel was in a good location with reastaurants and shops very close by. I had requested a quiet room but the first room I was offered was very close to the air conditioning unit and had a view over the road outside. I asked to be moved higher up which was much better. The room was good, clean, well organised and spacious. The hotel was very busy but the staff were reasonably helpful and friendly.
Breakfast was good (apart from the coffee but it's not easy to get a good coffee in the US!). I ate out each night so didn't get to try the restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charm_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaithersburg
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Gaithersburg/Washington, DC North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
#8 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
1.1 mi away
HYATT house Gaithersburg
HYATT house Gaithersburg
#3 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

Property: Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
Address: 9751 Washingtonian Blvd, Gaithersburg, MD 20878-5359
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gaithersburg
#5 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending functionality and elegance, the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center sets the stage for a truly successful visit. Located just outside of Washington, DC. In Montgomery County, Maryland, our picturesque lakeside hotel is the ideal home base for business travelers and families alike. Upon arrival, you'll instantly be taken with our well-appointed accommodations, superior amenities, and friendly service. Our spacious hotel rooms and suites offer guests perks like stunning lake views, luxurious bedding, and flat-screen TVs; upgrade for a Concierge Level room for added benefits like a complimentary Continental breakfast. We invite you to dine with us al fresco at The Bench, or enjoy craft cocktails and small bites with friends at our Lobby Lounge. With over 9,000 square feet of flexible event space, we're also an ideal location for a business convention or wedding in Gaithersburg. Whatever brings you here, we look forward to your visit at the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Marriott Gaithersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing