We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Castries, St. Lucia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed October 22, 2007

Just back from a two- night stay at the Marriott Washingtonian Center. We found the beds to be uncomfortable, I' m sorry to say, as were the pillows. We've stayed at other Marriotts and have found them to be super comfortable, but not so at this hotel. The bath tub had a scummy ring around it, which made it unappealing to take a bath. Apart from the beds and the unclean bath tub, everything else was quite fine. Particularly enjoyed the beautiful view we had from the 9th floor of the lake. It was nice to look out at night too, as the restaurants, etc. were all lit up. We didn't bother with room service due to all the restaurants within walking distance. I suggest
that you request a room with a view of the lake, otherwise you'll have a view of the parking lot. Although the highway is close by, we could hear no traffic noise at all. We had a corner room which afforded an extra window, thereby allowing lots of light into the room. All in all, we enjoyed our stay. The front desk staff were very
professional and fast. Parking is free - always a bonus. We'll go back.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lochfyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    128
    42
    10
    10
See reviews for
91
46
18
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2007

This hotel is very nice and the location is excellent. The beds were very comfortable, the room was spacious and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The pool was smaller than expected, but not too bad. The small lake has paddle boats and our kids enjoyed feeding the ducks. We didn't eat at the hotel. There are a variety of restaurants and stores around the lake. There is a complimentary shuttle to the metro. We missed the last shuttle on our first day and the hotel provided a car to take us to the metro. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — The beds and the nearby stores and restaurants.
  • Disliked — The pool size.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank texas-traveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2007

I stayed one night recently while on business. I'd stayed there before and was impressed. The location is good - on a lake next to an outdoor mall with stores & restaurants.

On the plus side, the staff were uniformly pleasant and greeted guests warmly. But it was the little things that separate the average from the great. The bed mattress sagged and was rather uncomfortable. The bathroom door hinges needed oiling and made a loud noise when the door was moved. Room service was prompt but the quality of the food was so-so. I left the food tray outside, per instructions. The tray was still there the next morning.

I might stay there again, but I'd probably check other hotels out first, despite the paucity of top-notch hotels in Washington's office park belt.

  • Liked — Decent room and facilites
  • Disliked — Terribly average
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JadedInBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spraggs, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2007

My husband and I were attending "A Time of Rememberance" to honor our son as one of our nations fallen heroes in Iraq. Trips like these are a rollercoaster of emotions. We very much appreciated the quality, cleanliness and ambiance of our room. It provided a great place to relax at our days end, when we needed time away from the world to reflect. The desk assistants always greeted us with a warm smile and the continental breakfast was awesome. This is all helpful (without you even being aware of it) of our healing process. Thank you so much.

Jim and Lynn Phillips

  • Liked — The attention to the little details in the room said that someone cared about our stay.
  • Disliked — The bath linens were a little scratchy.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mymarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2006

We just returned from the Gaitherburg Marriott Washingtonian, where we stayed for the New Years weekend while visiting friends in the area. We were disappointed in several things. One the pool, with caution cones all over the tile floor surrounding the pool cautioning "wet floor" we were shocked at how extremely slipperry the terra cotta glazed tiles were. Even though we had beach sandles on, we almost fell several times. We wondered with the hotel obviously acknowleding this hazzard with numerous caution cones how they would responds to a lawsuit should someone fall and become hurt. Good sense would dictate that the cost of updating the surround tiles on the pool floor would be money well spent. Not to mention what a distraction from any sence of relaxation these cones were, as well as signs warning "holding your breath under water for extended period of time could be dangerous". There was a lifeguard on duty, who was very attentive to all movement at the pool.
We were pleased to see luxury bedding in our room. A brochure on the table proudly describes the down bedding and states that it is non-alergenic and enclosed in a leak proof case, and the price for each piece of bedding should we like to purchase it???. Unfortunatley, upon pulling back our sheets we noticed what looked like spots, which on closer inspection were acutally feathers laying between the sheet and a felt like pad that fit between the sheets and the acutaual down base. Not just a few feathers but, at least a hundred spread over the bed. Climbing in the bed was initally very cozy, until we moved our legs around only to be "stung" by bits of feather quills popping through the sheets. The was acutally a bit like torture. The sheets also had a someonewhat sandy feel, which we could not seem to pinpoint, small peals of cottong perhaps. What a waste of money, do we really what to sleep on feathers?? Is this progress?? There is no way that someone changing these sheets could not have seen all the feathers on the underlying pad before placing the sheet over this??? We decided the next day that we really needed new sheets before the next night. We dutifully put the "please change the sheets" postcard on the pillow prior to leaving" Returning that evening at close to midnight, all looked well until we pulled the sheet back and realized that the sheets had NOT been changed. At that late hour we felt we had no choice but to endure another night in the "nest". Another observation, perhaps seems picky, but we noticed that on both days the housekeepers would pile, PILE, large piles of sheets outside the rooms as they cleaned, looking down the hallway we could see as many as six or eight piles of sheets, we went to breakfast and returned and they were still there. This happened on both days. We have not seen this at any other hotels and we stay around the world. It just looked extremely sloppy and tacky to have the used sheets laying in piles outside of the rooms on the floor. Why they had no cart to place them in is a mystery, and why they were there more than an hour later? Who knows??
On the positive side, the front desk staff and the resturant staff were very cheerful, polite, and helpful. When we complained about the sheets at the front desk, they took $10 dollars off the bill. This was not in anyway ample compensation for our distress, and we were not really looking for compensation. We would much rather not to have slept in a "nest".

  • Liked — Breakfast in the resturant
  • Disliked — feathers in the bed
  • Stayed December 2002, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HGDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millburn. NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2006

We recently stayed at The Marriott and found it to be a pleasant surprise. Conveniently located off 270. A bit confusing to find as the street is one Marriott property after another. But, once we found where we needed to be the trip was pleasant. The front desk was a little slow but the personnel was pleasant. The room was small but clean and well maintained. The only problem was that the room was too small to put a roll away bed in it. Families should beware that they would probably need more than one room. But the indoor pool made up for any inconvenience. It was open late and had a lifeguard which is wonderful since many properties seem to feel that this is not a necessity any more. The kids had a great time and we would definately stay there again.

  • Liked — The pool for the kids
  • Disliked — The size of the rooms
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank NJtriptakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange NJ
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2006

Was packed with little kids having a party at the hotel when I arrived. Hotel didnt have a single parking spot available and security threatened to tow my car when I parked there to unload. Hotel staff was most unaccomodating and couldnt care less how pissed I was despite the fact that I had four rooms booked. Room was warm and wouldnt cool down no matter what I tried to do. Won't come back to this stop I assure you!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsMaytag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaithersburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
#8 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Gaithersburg/Washington, DC North
1.1 mi away
HYATT house Gaithersburg
HYATT house Gaithersburg
#3 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

Property: Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
Address: 9751 Washingtonian Blvd, Gaithersburg, MD 20878-5359
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gaithersburg
#5 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending functionality and elegance, the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center sets the stage for a truly successful visit. Located just outside of Washington, DC. In Montgomery County, Maryland, our picturesque lakeside hotel is the ideal home base for business travelers and families alike. Upon arrival, you'll instantly be taken with our well-appointed accommodations, superior amenities, and friendly service. Our spacious hotel rooms and suites offer guests perks like stunning lake views, luxurious bedding, and flat-screen TVs; upgrade for a Concierge Level room for added benefits like a complimentary Continental breakfast. We invite you to dine with us al fresco at The Bench, or enjoy craft cocktails and small bites with friends at our Lobby Lounge. With over 9,000 square feet of flexible event space, we're also an ideal location for a business convention or wedding in Gaithersburg. Whatever brings you here, we look forward to your visit at the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Marriott Gaithersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing