We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again - not even if it was free”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Baltimore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never again - not even if it was free”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2007

Everything is sub par. The sheets and towels are very cheap and unappealing. The beds are not comfortable. Everything needs to be freshened up. I have heard that they have renovated one of the towers and perhaps they save the worst rooms for Priceline customers. There are at least two other 3 star properties (according to Priceline) in Gaithersburg. It is a total joke to say this is the same level as the Mariott or the Hilton. I am done with Priceline for this area. I wouldn’t want to stay here if it was free. Too bad Priceline lumps the Holiday inn with better hotels because I would bid reasonably high to get the Hilton or the Mariott.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Beds were uncomfortable
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BaltimoreBiotech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    106
    55
    22
    30
See reviews for
109
50
30
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2006

Overall, this particular weekend the Holiday Inn had pretty competitive prices for the area so I choose it having grow up in the area and knowing the hotel. I was back visiting for a class reunion. The hotel is basically a nice place to stay, but it could use some updating and remodeling. There was a tile on the bathroom floor that was missing and the shower from the upper room leaked, but fortunately it leaked into the tub in my room. The beds are clean and comfortable and it's a pretty good location. Most everything you need is close by. I would stay here again, but check the prices at other hotels because some are newer and less expensive, but not always.

Overall, it's clean, it's safe and everybody was accommodating.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The leaking shower
  • Tips/Secrets — Always try and see your room before you check in.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buchanan913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, Arizona
Level Contributor
149 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2006

My room was quiet as far as not hearing other guests. However, there is a fire station half a block away; great if you have an emergency medical condition; not great if you are trying to sleep. It was clean but it was definitely in need of updating. The black out curtain was hanging off the track so it would not close completely, the caulking around the base of the toilet was messily done and discolored, and the bathtub had rust stains and a mildewed shower curtain. On the plus side, you had all the amenities of pool, exercise, restaurant and bar. Most importantly, I felt safe. The pub service was enthusiastic but terribly inefficient. Food was so-so but only somewhat over-priced. Internet access was great and they have a business center where you can check in on-line and print your boarding pass. Would I stay here again; probably. Got a good deal for the area by booking on-line in advance at Holiday Inn website using an Entertainment Card.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — outdated
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lady_Road_Warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2006

I stayed at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg for 4 nights accompanying my husband for his business trip. We chose the hotel as it was one of the cheapest with free internet option. The whole building is not new, but they maintain it well and clean. The room we stayed was not new, nor ultra-super beautiful, but it was neat and OK for the entire 4 nights of stay. Another good thing was that room service was affordable and its quality was acceptable. The reception looked a bit understaffed, but the people were friendly. The gym was OK. Some restaurants and a big shopping center were in walk distance, which was quite convenient. Overall, our stay was much better than we expected for the price (we paid about $70 for a king room per night). If we have another chance to make a trip to the Gaithersburg area, we will definitely stay here again (as long as we want to save $$$)!

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2006

The main reason this hotel was chosen was because of the shuttle to and from Shady Grove Metro. The shuttle took me, my husband and my two small children to the metro in the morning and gave me a card with the number to call when we needed the shuttle to come back to the hotel....GREAT! Well, low and behold ---there was no evening shuttle available when I called (4:30 pm) The "Front Desk Manager" said, "sorry, it's not running, you will need to find another means back to the hotel." I was stunned, not knowing the city or the bus schedules. I asked her what bus number I should take back to the hotel and her answer was "I don't know." Shouldn't she have put me on hold and found out for her guest? I told her that and she just didn't respond. Luckily there were some very friendly bus drivers who helped me get back (after one transfer) -- this was difficult with tired, small children who had to use the bathroom!!! If, in the morning, we would have been told that the shuttle was only running until 2 pm, we would have driven the 3 miles to the Metro in our own van.

If that wasn't enough, in the early AM, the maids were loudly tapping on each door to see if the guests had checked out!!! Did they ever think to check with the front desk to see who has check out!!!!

I emailed the Holiday Inn and they did credit me $100 but the experience was a bad one. The hotel did have some positives--the breakfast buffet you pay for is very nice (kids eat free), the shuttle to the Metro was very convenient (WHEN RUNNING), and location to the shopping mall was great. Other than that, make sure the shuttle is running if you need it and remember the front desk management has absolutely no people skills or care about your stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dylanmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2006

We have stayed here many times over the last few years along with a number of other hotels in the area. It is unquestionably the best bet, rooms are excellent and the hotel has a good friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2005

Okay for the $. Quiet, room was nice, clean. Enough staff at the cafe to make breakfast acceptable. Other than that, I didn't use any of the facilities. Where else you gonna stay near DC for under $200 and not have tour buses dumping packs of wild kids in your hallway at 10pm?

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaithersburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Gaithersburg/Washington, DC North
0.3 mi away
Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
HYATT house Gaithersburg
HYATT house Gaithersburg
#3 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
3.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
#8 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
#4 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gaithersburg

Property: Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
Address: 2 Montgomery Village Ave, Intersection of Rte 355 & Montgomery, Gaithersburg, MD 20879-3504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
#3 Green Hotel in Gaithersburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gaithersburg
#4 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gaithersburg 3*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, your number one choice for Gaithersburg hotels! The Holiday Inn Gaithersburg Maryland is a non-smoking environment that provides lodging in Gaithersburg, MD in the heart of the I-270 High Tech Business Corridor and is convenient to Washington, DC. This first class Gaithersburg hotel is located near NIST, IBM, Hughes, Lockheed Martin, DOE, Texas Instruments and Medimmune. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing