We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Happy Stay and Surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Gaithersburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Happy Stay and Surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed for a night after moving our things out of our students apartment.
Pleasantly surprised by the room and how comfortable the beds were.
Not what we expected at all. Staff very pleasant and had a pleasant drink in the
bar. We had a free beverage coupon.
Would stay again if in the area! We stayed with IHG points and thought great stay for our points
Not far from UMD.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 5th floor and this was very cool on the hot day we were there. Large rooms and good b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CINDYCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    98
    49
    20
    27
See reviews for
102
43
29
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed for two nights last week. This is an old school hotel, with an onsite restaurant and gift shop. They have updated the rooms in a very thoughtful manner. The bedside tables have outlets on both sides for easy recharging, as well as a bedside lamp and a gooseneck reading lamp for both. It was actually a bit of a joke for us that there were 8 different lamps in the room, so lighting NOT a problem.
We had a few minor problems, but they were minor enough and it was late, so we didn't bother the staff. Our cable was missing all the HD channels, so we couldn't get any of the networks, and we didn't have hot water at one point midday, as we were getting ready to go out.
Only other minor nitpick....We'd been working out in the fitness center, with the plan of a dip in the pool afterwards, only to find that it is closed for cleaning midday each day. This is posted on the pool, just seems an odd time to be doing the cleaning.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank damnedifyoudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
324 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Pleasantly surprised to find such a nice Holiday Inn. The best part was the staff - very friendly and willing to help. The next is the room size and attractive updated furniture, etc. There are two sections to the hotel; one goes up to 7 floors and the other 8 floors. That makes it a little confusing until one gets use to where each bank of elevators is. There is ample free parking.

My only disappoint was with the downstairs pub. The staff tried very hard, but there was not enough help so the wait for service/food was way too long. The quality/price of the food was good.

I do not know if the selling of sandwiches, beverages, etc. in the main lobby during lunchtime is a standard practice, but it is a good one for those in a hurry.

If in the area again, I would certainly consider returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler2AM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed overnight and were very happy with the hotel. The room was up to date and nice and clean. The employees could not have been nicer. The service was great. They picked us up at the Shady Grove metro which was very convenient. Everyone at the hotel was very nice and friendly - from the front desk to the pub in the evening. We were pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyandCarol33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
212 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel late last year, but my visit this week exceeded my previous experience. My room was updated, with modern furnishings and bedding, and was very clean and comfortable. Free parking, wifi included. We will return again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyValley1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed for the full cherry blossom weekend. The room was a typical Holiday Inn quality room with nothing special to say. Bed was quite spring-y, i.e. not good. Good location. So so service. No recognition for my IHG platinum level.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGaithersburg, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I do apologize that your experience was not what you expected.
I have taken note and wish to thank you for bringing this matter to our attention as this is our best means of improving our guest service and guest satisfaction.
Again, I do apologize and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future. Thank again.

Melvin Nichols
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

My boss came down from NYC and we picked this hotel because of it's location and convenience to DC. The rooms have been upgraded so that just made it even better. The staff was very helpful to us both. Trudy, Barack, Cira and Adnan were very good at taking care of whatever additional need and request we made. Locally their are numerous food options, a near by mall and hotel shuttle to take you to the area metro. Also check with the front desk for special offers with various stores and resturants that will offer their guest discounts.

Room Tip: They have many different room styles. I found that it paid to ask the front desk to help you find w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjenk45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaithersburg
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Gaithersburg/Washington, DC North
0.3 mi away
Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
#5 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
3.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
#8 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
2.6 mi away
HYATT house Gaithersburg
HYATT house Gaithersburg
#3 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gaithersburg

Property: Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
Address: 2 Montgomery Village Ave, Intersection of Rte 355 & Montgomery, Gaithersburg, MD 20879-3504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gaithersburg
#3 Green Hotel in Gaithersburg
#4 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gaithersburg 3*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, your number one choice for Gaithersburg hotels! The Holiday Inn Gaithersburg Maryland is a non-smoking environment that provides lodging in Gaithersburg, MD in the heart of the I-270 High Tech Business Corridor and is convenient to Washington, DC. This first class Gaithersburg hotel is located near NIST, IBM, Hughes, Lockheed Martin, DOE, Texas Instruments and Medimmune. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing