We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Home away from Home! Thanks George! BEST SERVICE!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Gaithersburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Home away from Home! Thanks George! BEST SERVICE!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had a great experience at the Holiday Inn Gaithersburg! We were moving to the area so we stayed three weeks while looking for houses. All the staff were very helpful and accommodating, anything we needed was attended to straight away. George was amazing! He really went above and beyond to help, he is a great asset to the hotel! The place also offers extra things like free shuttle rides to places within a three mile radius. There is a mall across the way, which was nice to visit with our two year old. The heated indoor pool was a huge bonus, perfect activity for the kids. There is always a lifeguard on duty and its heated really well. The rooms are very clean and renovated, always housekeeping so we were able to get late night room cleaning. The dining room service is fast and fair priced. Great pub and restaurant in the hotel, and many nice restaurants in the area. A very positive experience over all!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AleXfendeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    101
    52
    22
    28
See reviews for
106
46
29
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Loved the modern room decor. Bed was good pillows a little lumpy and some smelled. Loved the indoor pool. The pool was a bit cold and the hot tub was too hot. The most annoying part of the stay was the limited pool hours. Only open 7-10 am and 4-10pm. If I had know this ahead of time I would have stayed at another hotel that didn't have restricted pool hours. Did not like the bathroom layout, awkward. The hair dryer has a stuck off switch. There was Contruction on the sprinklers when we were there and we were awakened the only morning we could sleep late with drilling noises. Then the elevators didn't work and had to carry suitcases down five flights of stairs. The restaurants in the hotel were good. The bar downstairs had excellent fish and chips and quesadillas. That is quite a compliment since I don't like bar food. The upstairs restaurant had good fresh food and a nice breakfast. When we called for reservation a few hours before we arrived, the desk clerk said the breakfast was free if we were members of the priority club. He said he could sign us up when we got there . The next day we tried to get breakfast a were told the clerk should have given us one coupon for one free breakfast. We stayed there a week. We also noticed two guest in front of us got a welcome bag with water apple and pretzels we didn't get one until several days later hen we told them the elevator was working. We also told them the hall on our floor had no heat. The fixed it within the hour. Most clerks very nice only had one who was a little abrupt. Overall likes the hotel. Might stay there again but will look at other options in the area since we travel here frequently.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Acebietz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel has all the standard ammenities that you would want. Nothing special, but also nothing bad that would stop me from staying here again. The hotel staff were friendly and helped me when I lost my key.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmeeey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

The rooms are comfortable...food is good both upstairs and down at the bar. Greeted always with a smile. I have been visiting here for 28 years...will continue to do so.

If i had a preference, i would choose the north tower...Little be more quiet there and i am just use to it.

Room Tip: I am always greeted with a smile....clean and reasonable...Always have a good meal in the bar. Rich...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 535EdS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Service was the key. Unlike may hotels, the staff here actually seemed to care about guest service. When they asked a question, they actually listened for the answer instead of just asking because it was part of some script. Check in and out we're both quick and easy even with several guests to process. The room was clean, quiet, and well designed with plenty of outlets for the electronics. USA Today was waiting at the door early the next morning. All in all, a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Numburz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn in Gaithersburg for two nights and found it to be an odd experience. My room had floors that were not swept, drapes that were falling off their drapery hooks, uncomfortable lumpy pillows and it faced a brick wall. There were 14 of us who stayed at this hotel and each person had a negative story to tell about their room. One item to pay attention to is that the 1st floor is the basement and yes they have guest rooms in the basement. The second floor is really the first floor and the meeting rooms are right next to the guest rooms.

On the positive side the staff could not have been nicer, the heating system actually worked and the temperature in the room was the temperature on the thermostat. The bathrooms were very clean and the shower had good pressure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thoughtful_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGaithersburg, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. It is our pleasure to hear kind words about our friendly staff.
We are sincerely sorry for the issues you had during your stay. It is our goal to consistently ensure our hotel and services are superior. Your comments are important to our success, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.Thanks again and we wish you safe travels!

Melvin Nichols
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hotel is completely OK, not great and not bad. Pretty much as expected. The staff are good, the breakfast is plentiful and again, OK. The room service is good. The rooms are good, decor a bit dull, and if you look behind the furniture, the wiring points are loose and might be dangerous. The plumbing is suspect, with water coming out of the wrong part of the tap, and the toilets block with monotonous regularity. The hot water supply is excellent and the temperature easy to adjust. I would stay here again (have done twice) and there is nowhere else in town that is better value, though value is affected by proximity to Washington which raises prices, of course. All in all, entirely satisfactory and on the plus side of average, but they should have a look at the wiring and the plumbing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rh1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear rh1312,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and your experience makes you want to come back to our hotel. Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will share these with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaithersburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Gaithersburg/Washington, DC North
0.3 mi away
Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
#5 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gaithersburg

Property: Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
Address: 2 Montgomery Village Ave, Intersection of Rte 355 & Montgomery, Gaithersburg, MD 20879
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
#3 Green Hotel in Gaithersburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gaithersburg
#4 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gaithersburg 3*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, your number one choice for Gaithersburg hotels! The Holiday Inn Gaithersburg Maryland is a non-smoking environment that provides lodging in Gaithersburg, MD in the heart of the I-270 High Tech Business Corridor and is convenient to Washington, DC. This first class Gaithersburg hotel is located near NIST, IBM, Hughes, Lockheed Martin, DOE, Texas Instruments and Medimmune. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing