We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The hotel was exactly what we needed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Shady Grove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16216 Frederick Road, Gaithersburg, MD 20877   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Findlay, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The hotel was exactly what we needed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We searched for weeks online ti find a decent priced hotel. We were concerned that the hotel would not be safe or clean due to the price but tried it thinking we could change after the first night. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The area was great and the hotel was very nice. The breakfast was excellent and the breakfast room was very large with room for everyone. We rode the metro everyday to DC and the staff was quite prompt in taking us and picking us up. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who would like a clean, safe, inexpensive place to stay near DC.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trojansblueandgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    109
    25
    12
    5
See reviews for
138
77
32
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

I was just in town for business. Although my trip was short, the hotel was very nice. A pleasant surprise. Breakfast was complimentary and the front desk staff was helpful with directions to and from my meetings. The housekeepers on my floor were always smiling and the room was very clean. I would recommend this hotel to other business travelers as well.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Armo526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

I just finished a short stay here and I must say I was very pleased. The hotel was clean as previous reviews have stated, which is always a big plus with me. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I chose to walk to the Metro into D.C. instead of using the shuttle. It was about a mile walk one way, easy walk nothing too strenuous. Metro ride was terrific into D.C., it took about 45 minutes and it was a nice chance to relax on the way back to the hotel after walking around D.C. all day. Breakfast was ample, and on Tuesday evenings they have a manager reception with wine and snacks, which I thought was a nice touch. The hotel was a great find and value rather than spending a fortune in D.C. This is by no means a reflection on the hotel but I found the driving a little confusing in this area even with my GPS. Also one day I drove to Mt. Vernon and the traffic was horrendous from here. All in all though the hotel was a great value and I would recommend it to friends in the future, but would let them know of the congestion and advise them to use more of the Metro.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gailbladder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

This was a great place for us to stay. We went to the National Zoo and the Smithsonian. The pool was very refreshing. The free breakfast in the morning was better than most that I have ever had at a hotel. I really liked the waffles! The shuttle to and from the Metro station was very handy. I never moved my car for our entire stay. There are restaurants right there within a block and a gas station/convenient store right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

We had such a wonderful stay. The Front Desk staff was exceptional. They were very helpful by giving detailed directions to our various destinations and traveling with kids we truly appreciated it.

The hotel itself was very beautifully maintained. Their pool was perfect for our kids and they had something that I have not seen at any other hotel I have stayed in. They had a picnic area which was great allowing our kids to run around. The rooms were kept very clean and the housekeeping staff was always smiling. Breakfast was a delightful treat. They had an assortment of food set up for us in the mornings. It truly was one of the best hotel experiences we have had. Great hotel for the price.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arax2535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

My colleagues and I enjoyed our stay. The staff was very freindly. I highly recommend this hotel to any business travelers.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToledoLisa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Great price. Good location, given the close proximity to the Metro station. Shuttle service is a great amenity, but van needs to be bigger--lots of people use it. One day we walked to the station--wasn't a bad walk. Computer availability is a perk, but there is only one--lots of kids on it when we were there. Has a guest laundry, but it's only 2 washers & 2 dryers--not quite enough to go around for the whole hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms are older but very clean. Pool was great--would be great if it closed at dusk instead of 8PM (still plenty of light in July). Breakfast was great--a very big selection, more than the usual (even for the deluxe) at the Comfort Inns. Was there on a Tuesday for the Manager's Reception from 5:30PM to 7PM--beer, wine, soda, hot appetizers--very nice! Definitely an older hotel, but well worth the price--we will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MooMoo502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaithersburg
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg
0.4 mi away
HYATT house Gaithersburg
HYATT house Gaithersburg
#3 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
#7 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Gaithersburg/Washington, DC North
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
#8 of 16 in Rockville
4.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Rockville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Shady Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Shady Grove

Property: Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Address: 16216 Frederick Road, Gaithersburg, MD 20877
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gaithersburg
#2 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#4 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Shady Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven stroy brick building with interior corridors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Comfort Inn Shady Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Shady Grove Hotel Gaithersburg
Shady Grove Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing