We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel at a Great Price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel at a Great Price!”
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Stayed here because work was being done on my house. The hotel is very clean and asthetically pleasing on the inside. The room was very nice and well taken care of. Also very comfortable, even a real plant in the bathroom. Maid service was fantastic, the front desk staff was very polite and friendly, and the price cannot be beat for the area and the quality. This hotel is actually nicer then others at a higher price. For sightseers the hotel has a shuttle to the metro and the city is 30-45 min. I had a wonderful and comfortable stay and would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mct1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    116
    26
    14
    10
See reviews for
160
86
34
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Nicely located on main street with restaurants and grocery stores. However, in front of hotel the street is divided, so you can't turn left when leaving and you can't turn left to get into hotel lot from the street either. Room have WAY too much furniture! Don't believe they were build to accomodate the microwave/fridge they now have in all of them. Desk chairs do not fit under desk so they are always in the way. Reserved two adjoining rooms, yet we had to put furniture out in the hall to get the door open between rooms. Similar situation in parking lot. Hotel is on a hill with small lot on 3 sides. Picture seems to show hotel with lots of space surrounding it, but no true at all. It is wedged inbetween a car lot and another business. Lot barely accomodates minivans. Had to back out of lot a couple times when all spaces were full. Lobby very small as well. Pool supposed to be open by Memorial Day weekend, but it wasn't.
Aside from everything being too small, the rooms were clean and complimentary breakfast was great. Hotel shuttle to Metro was immediately available when we asked, and when we called for return shuttle to hotel, they picked us up in 5 minutes.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalamazoo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2009

I chose this hotel because of the proximity to Washington DC - last stop on the Red Line - and because of an excellent room rate. The front desk was very helpful: explaining precisely how the metro works how to get to it and that they have a shuttle service available for guests. The location makes this hotel very conveinent to get into and away from DC.
There were a few issues that we encountered, which I would imagine would be likely for other guests to experience. First, the tv in the room is a little antiquated and ours was having trouble getting any stations, regardless of how much I tried to tinker with the cable wires. In addition, when we first checked into the room, we were hit with a harsh cleaner smell - not exactly the kind of odor you'd want to welcome you after a long day. Due to our short stay & even shorter time spent in the room, we didn't bother the staff with either issue.
However, despite the minor inconvieniences we experienced - the good rate we received, exceptionally wide variety of decent breakfast items served, and the assistance of the staff make the Comfort Inn Shady Grove a solid choice for a budget-conscious visit to D.C. or the surrounding area

As a side note, if you decide to choose the Comfort Inn to visit DC by rail - do realize you will have to pay to park at the metro station there & for tickets to and from DC each way will set you back about 2.25-4.50

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYaverageJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural Retreat, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2009

My husband travels a lot with business and is a Priority Club member at a number of chains. We normally choose Hampton Inns for their not-too-fancy, but extra clean and comfortable atmosphere. This particular Comfort Inn in Gaithersburg, MD was comparable to all of the nicest Hamptons in cleanliness, service and comfort. We had absolutely no complaints. The value was excellent and the distance from DC just fine. On one day we took the hotel shuttle to the metro station and received excellent service from the shuttle driver. We decided to walk back to the hotel from the metro station in the evening and that was a quick and easy walk on flat, city sidewalks.

Another day we drove into DC in our personal vehicle and had no troubles whatsoever. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Byrddenest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2009

The staff at this Comfort Inn on a busy corner makes every effort to be terrific hosts, and it makes all the difference. It's a 10 minute walk to the Shady Grove metro stop, but they also have a free shuttle. It took about 35 minutes on the metro to get down to Farragut North station on the same line (red).
It's all squeaky clean, the bed is very comfy and there are tons of pillows. The place is older, and the heat was a bit noisy, but they maintain it very well. The touch that got me is a new (and gratis) bottle of spring water at the bedside every night.
The breakfast is included, and there are fresh waffles, eggs, cereals, juices. No fresh fruit or yogurt. There were always friendly and intelligent people at the front desk who were interested in helping us to find restaurants, a good place for a morning walk, how to get to the metro, etc. It sure beats staying down in DC for $250+ per night for a room, no breakfast, and an impersonal staff. We're glad we gave this place a try.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeresaupstateNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2008

This is a fantastic low priced hotel within easy access of DC via the hotel shuttle and the excellent Metro nearby.

The Manager is so friendly and helpful as are all staff at this hotel. The cost is a fraction of DC hotels and it has better facilities than more expensive hotels I have stayed at.

Limited restaurants nearby but many restaurants a short drive away.

I would stay here again.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank pacific2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2008

Let me clarify...we arrived at the hotel shortly after a massive thunderstorm rolled through the area. The hotel was running on generators for basic services but there were still customers they had to deal with and they made the best of a bad situation. We were told that the eletric company gave an estimate of about 10 hours before power would be restored so we had a decision to make...wait it out or try to get a different hotel. The staff helped those who decided to leave find other hotels without hesitation. Some decided to go to other hotels...we decided to stay. Since the keys would not work, one of the staff members walked us up to our room and let us in with their master key and would do the same thing each time someone needed into their room. We never heard a complaint from any of the staffers or saw anything but pleasant faces despite the situation. After we were there for a couple of hours, we called down to the front desk for status of the electricity. We were told that they were calling the electric company every 30 minutes to keep the customers updated and that power would be restored from in 1 to 4 hours. After about 4 hours, the power was restored.

The rest of our stay was great. The breakfast was pretty standard hotel fare but was still good. I agree with a previous review that it was crowded but it seemed to go in waves and was busiest between 7:00 and 8:00. The crowd seemed much smaller after 8:00 if you can wait.

The shuttle was very convenient. It runs as needed between the hotel and the metro station. Upon arrival to the Shady Grove metro station, we would simply call the hotel for the shuttle and it would be there within 5 minutes. My only complaint was that there was only one shuttle and it was a minivan that held 7 people including the driver. The metro station was about a mile away so the shuttle returns quickly to pick up other people but it seemed to me that the demand was too much for one van.

Overall, our stay was good and certainly memorable...the property is older but it is clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mullii4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaithersburg
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Gaithersburg/Washington, DC North
0.4 mi away
HYATT house Gaithersburg
HYATT house Gaithersburg
#3 of 15 in Gaithersburg
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
#7 of 15 in Gaithersburg
432 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
#10 of 15 in Rockville
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Shady Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Shady Grove

Property: Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Address: 16216 Frederick Rd, Gaithersburg, MD 20877-4023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gaithersburg
#2 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#4 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Shady Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven stroy brick building with interior corridors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Shady Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Shady Grove Hotel Gaithersburg
Shady Grove Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing