We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Excellent.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Burbank, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow! Excellent.”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

I found this hotel based on the reviews. From check in to check out everything was superb. The staff was great. Breakfast was wonderful with lots of seating. The reception on Tuesday evening was a nice touch and friendly service, the room was clean and the bathroom was spotless. Nearby restaurants provided an easy dining experience. Nice picnic area in the back. I didn't use the pool because it was closed. I would definitely return to this hotel on my next business trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    117
    26
    14
    10
See reviews for
164
88
34
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We had wanted to come to Washington to see the cherry blossoms and did not want to pay city prices. I remembered this hotel from when I stayed in Gaithersburg for business. One accepts that it is not a plush hotel and that the breakfast is very standard (although plentiful), but it is really great value for money and the staff could not have been more helpful. They responded cheerfully and helpfully to every question we asked of them.
The room was clean and sufficiently large for the two of us. It had a king size bed, two chairs and a desk. The only negative was that the TV did not have the NBC Sports channel and so we were unable to watch our UK soccer games.
The hotel is close to the Shady Grove Metro station and the hotel runs a free shuttle service from the hotel to the station and back. Twice while we were there the shuttle was not available and the hotel paid for a taxi. The train ride to the center of Washington is 40 minutes
Gaithersburg, itself, is full of great restaurants and again these do not charge Washington prices
Another location plus for this hotel is that it is closer than Washington to several Civil War sites - Harpers Ferry and Manassas are less than 1 hour, Gettysburg and Antietam about one and a half hours. So much more convenient that having to drive out of downtown Washington.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Great stay! From the moment we arrived the staff were very friendly. Nice location right off of the highway. Lots of little touches - hard & soft pillows, a little live plant in the bathroom, desk between the double beds, rolled towels in a little shelf under sink..... Very clean. Nice breakfast buffet with a few hot items, waffle maker, nice choice of teas etc. All in all I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebR777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

... and even then I would rather pay double than stay in this place again.

We had the misfortune of staying here 1 night all based on the TA reviews. There are so many issues with this property we wonder about the glowing reviews. Where do I start?

The good:
The bath was clean
Fast elevators
Helpful, but misinformed staff

The rest goes to bad & ugly:
• 50 TV channels with Showtime, but no HGTV (only channel blocked), a channel we watch on the road the most. The personnel at the front desk did not even know it was not available.
• Rather small room (2 double beds)
• Our room had red spots on the wall; not sure if it was slurpee or blood
• From certain angle we could see from the room to the main hall with the door closed. Magic? No, but almost an inch of space between the door and frame. We propped the chair and our stuff against the door to feel safe.
• The room has a microwave and very noisy mini fridge even though it is hidden inside pretty used (and old looking) furniture
• The bath is OK but the room itself desperately needs an update of the outdated look.
• A/C unit was so noisy we cooled the room down while away and did not use it after that. The bath ventilation was one of the nosiest we experienced; it was efficient in removing steamy air, but way too loud and I bet our neighbors could hear it clearly just as we did theirs.
• Every move on the bouncy, medium beds created what we called 'symphony of sounds' from the coil springs, foundation and who knows what else.
• If you check in before the office building next door closes, good luck finding parking.
• The breakfast was average, but we could not eat it since there was no place to sit. The tables were taken by teenage kids (tour bus) who already ate and were just loafing around & checking their phones while so many people were looking for a place to sit. Management should ask them to wait in the lobby so others can sit down and eat. Plus the small tables are so tight together it is very hard to walk by.
• We also wondered if people live here on longer term, weekly basis with so many small kids running around into the wee hours.
• While I thought the safe charge scam was purveyor of dubious establishments in shady areas I was wrong. This Choice Hotels member charges one so watch for it. They do not charge extra for hair dryer so why safe (we used neither)?

When we drove away in the afternoon (5PM) we were hassled by panhandlers on the Shady Grove Rd & N. Frederick intersection. Not a hotel issue per say, but something to consider.

Maybe the reason why this place is so highly rated is the free libation Tuesdays (5:30 - 7:00 PM; beer & wine and food). Otherwise we have no explanation why this place at the time of the writing this review is #2 in Gaithersburg.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KHL12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISG, Owner at Comfort Inn Shady Grove, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. Our staff prides itself in providing a memorable visit for our guests, thus having won 16 Gold and a Platinum Award for Hospitality from Choice Hotels International. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

At your service,

Vira

Vira Safai, CHA
Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I drove from Canada and finally hit my max...I was looking for a different hotel but found the Comfort Inn, a chain that seldom disappoints. The hotel was clean, efficient and a pleasure to stay at.

The fellow at the desk suggested two restaurants that were within walking distance...the one I selected was first rate. This is a hotel is the middle of town, without scenic views, but a very nice place to stay one evening.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This was a wonderful location. We could get to the Metro with eaze and from there...you can do anything in the area. We arrived at 10:45 pm for our check in. No problem! As we waited in the cozy lobby for our daughters to pick us up, every staff member asked if we needed help. We just laughed after awhile telling them in advance, we have a ride, thanks for asking!! Again. Great location, good breakfast and wonderful staff. I would hightly recommend this to anyone wanting a great stay at a great price. We stayed Weds thru Sat.

Room Tip: Feel free to run down and grab a coffee/breakfast and take it back to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtabula, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Wonderful staff, very clean, great breakfast selection, free shuttle service to the Metro station. Excellent neighborhood location, felt completely safe walking to the excellent restaurants nearby - I will definitely be making this my "temporary home" on my next DC vacation!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 959TLN2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaithersburg
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg
0.4 mi away
HYATT house Gaithersburg
HYATT house Gaithersburg
#3 of 15 in Gaithersburg
495 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
#7 of 15 in Gaithersburg
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Gaithersburg/Washington, DC North
2.8 mi away
Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
#10 of 15 in Rockville
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Shady Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Shady Grove

Property: Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Address: 16216 Frederick Rd, Gaithersburg, MD 20877-4023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gaithersburg
#2 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#4 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Shady Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven stroy brick building with interior corridors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Shady Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Shady Grove Hotel Gaithersburg
Shady Grove Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing