We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience, very pet-friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stayed here four nights with my beagle. They only charged $15 per night for the pet fee, no up-front fee in addition, which is much better than most places. There is a big and well-lit yard to walk dogs. I felt perfectly safe walking my dog, even at night (I am a young female). The room was nice and very clean - the bed was comfortable, there was a small fridge & microwave, the bathroom was big with lots of countertop space. Everyone at the front desk was extremely nice and accomodating. It's a bit more expensive than other motel chains (but not by much) but for the safety and comfort that I had while staying here, it was totally worth it. If I am in the area again I will definitely be staying here.

I cannot comment on the restaurant or room service because I did not utilize them.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrienne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 445 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

We just spent 3 nights at the Shady Grove Hotel and really enjoyed our stay. Food was superb. Room very quiet and comfortable. The shuttle was a lovely surprise so we could take the Metro downtown and avoid hassle of parking. We definitely recommend this hotel. Gerry and Bernie

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brickens2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Recently we visited the DC area for the first time and found the staff at this hotel to be amazing! From the moment we arrived everyone was so helpful and positive and we appreciated their assistance and guidance. We went into DC on the metro and they dropped us off at the station and then picked us up when we returned. Our room was comfortable and very clean (the water bottles were such a nice amenity). We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis F H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

What a great staff to be with away from home,Thank you all for your great help with my aunty,expecialy Yolanda Mendez can't thank you enough.Would recomend any one staying in that area."Home away from Home"

Musya

Room Tip: Look no where else for great customer service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kami M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I could not have been more pleased with my stay at this hotel! I was in the area for work related training and was very pleased with these accomidations. Everything was very clean and even the Christmas decorations were welcoming. Every memebr of the staff I encountered was pleasant and helpful. My training was down in Rockville, the hotel provided a shuttle to and from the Metro ANY TIME I needed it. The area itself has great dining options. I actually could have stayed at a much higher priced hotel that week but chose this one because of the free parking and free hot breakfast. I have no regrets and will stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here with our two little dogs while visiting family over the Holidays. Friendly staff, convenient location and very comfortable bed. The only reason I did not give it an excellent rating is due to the fact that our room was not made up one time out of our four day stay. Also, the room safe was not in service our first day, yet we were charged a dollar a day for usage of the safe.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penngal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Easy access off the freeway, wonderful shuttle service to metro or local area businesses. The staff was very friendly; did not matter who you ran into in the hotel, they had a smile and said hello.
Breakfast was okay, same thing 5 mornings in a row got a little old though. Night auditor was not certain of what times the shuttle ran (stated "I'm just the night auditor") so made the first morning a little uncertain.
Overall great location, staff and clean/fresh rooms!

Room Tip: Had a room just around the corner from the elevator/vending/ice and couldn't hear a thing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaithersburg
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
#6 of 14 in Gaithersburg
450 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
#11 of 14 in Rockville
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Gaithersburg/Washington, DC North
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites
1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
#7 of 14 in Gaithersburg
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Shady Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Shady Grove

Address: 16216 Frederick Rd, Gaithersburg, MD 20877-4023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gaithersburg
#2 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#3 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range: $94 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Shady Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven stroy brick building with interior corridors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Shady Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Shady Grove Hotel Gaithersburg
Shady Grove Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing